Tank/Sump/Flow Design...

Kliman01

Reefing newb
Hey, everybody

I've been researching and giving a lot of thought to the design of the water system for the tank I'm planning, and since I'm totally new to marine setups, I'd like to get people's opinion (as well as making sure my understanding of best practice and how this stuff actually works is correct).

x4GFq.jpg

I am planning a 90Gal display tank with 2 of the "Glassholes.com" 700gph overflow units (or something similar) piped together and draining into a 30gal (approx) sump in the stand. Most of the water will end up in the section where I will have a protein skimmer (not sure of the model yet, so I don't know if the height of my bubble trap is accurate, but that is subject to change still), with a valve allowing an adjustable amount of water flow into a 10gal (approx) refugium. The refugium will drain into the center "return" area through a set of slots, which I guess will help keep the snails and such where they belong.

I plan to run a pair of pumps (for redundancy) back into a common rail return line into the tank. Check valves in that system will prevent the pumps from fighting each other, as well as keep the water flowing as it should in the event of a pump failure. Another set will help prevent siphon back into the sump should both pumps fail. I know the dual pumps is really overkill, but it will make me sleep better at night :). There is also a return line (with a valve for adjustability) feeding back into the skimmer area in case I want to turn the flow into the display tank down a bit (to reduce strain on the pumps).

The wider part of the bubble trap is approx. 3", so I can sneak a chunk of foam media in there once in awhile should water clarity be an issue. Most of the time it will be open.

I will run a pair of heaters (again, redundancy) in the return area as well.

I'm totally new to the whole marine thing, but I have a fair bit of experience with FW tanks.