Tanked's 125 build thread

tankedchemist

Reef enthusiast
So, after working my butt off all summer, I decided I deserve a reward... so I'm putting together a new 125 gallon tank. I ordered it from the LFS Friday, and got it this afternoon. I decided on a Perfecto Corner-Flo, pre-drilled with 2 overflows, the matching black pine stand, and the lights. I ended up getting marineland 72" Pro lights, with 3x 150W 14000K HQI, 8x 39W HO T5 actinics, and built-in lunar lights. Boy are those puppies bright! It's so awesome. The tank takes up about 80% of my dining room. :mrgreen:

And before you can ask, here's a picture:

So, my next step is the sump and plumbing. I ordered the largest tank I can get into the stand-- a 30 long-- to use as the sump/refugium. Anyone got suggestions for how to set up the plumbing from the bulkheads in the bottom of the tank to the sump, and then the return lines? is there any neat feature you wish you'd worked into your system? I'm a total newb at plumbing stuff so any recommendations and suggestions are completely welcome.

Well I have never actually plumb a tank but I have watched a lot of vids of it being done. Let me go find one. this should help some [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kn9a1Arvn-Y&feature=channel"]YouTube - Episode 51 , pt1, How To Set Up A Reef Tank, LA Fishguys[/ame] [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zID7cfbeTTM&feature=related"]YouTube - Episode 51 , pt2, How To Set Up A Reef Tank, LA Fishguys[/ame] [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VYDU2B6sPfo&feature=related"]YouTube - Episode 51 , pt3, How To Set Up A Reef Tank, LA Fishguys[/ame]

the one thing that i would suggest that you plan and build into your plumbing is to do something like i did with mine where i have a "drain" connection for doing water changes...