Tear down

dankolle

Reefing newb
I am posting in this forum because I have never done a full tear down before. I have colonial hydroids so bad that I just need to start again. I am looking for help / approval for my plan below. All of my fish are already in quarantine due to ich.

1. I am cycling a 10 gallon tank to house my corals and anemones while the main tank is going through its new cycle.
  2. I plan to frag and transfer corals to the 10 gallon. Once the corals appear healthy after two weeks, I am going to bleach and acid my existing live rock as mentioned on reef central.com
That is where my expertise ends. Should I dump all of the water from the main tank and get new sand? Does anyone know if hydroids will transfer in the water column for an extended period of time? I would hate to go through this just to have the same problem again...

For the sake of anyone else going through this I will try to keep everything updated on here as a log.

1. I have my 10 gallon rescue tank setup with a small hob bio wheel, thermo, ammonia alert and 10 pounds of dry bleached live rock.
  2. I am moving small frags of my corals into this tank to make sure they will be happy for their temporary stay. After much research I am seeing frag / coral only tanks don't really cycle because the bio load is really low. So I am testing that theory...
Once I establish the tank is safe for holding all of my corals, I will move everything I can and then follow the reincarnation for live rock I found on reef central. My goal is to have the corals in the rescue tank no more than 60 days.

I have a stable frag tank setup now. I have about half my coral species transferred over and I started the bleach bath on a batch of rocks. Meanwhile, I am setting up a container to restart the newly dead rock.

This consists of:

1. Brand new container from lowes, rinsed
  2. Pure ammonia...for cycle food
  3. Seachem nitrifying bacteria in a bottle to help seed the newly sterile live rock
  4. Air stone