Teds fowlr to reef

Discussion in 'Tank Showcase Comments' started by Ted, Jul 8, 2009.

  1. Ted

    Ted Living one day at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Ok heres a few pic to stat off with. First one was on the 4th of July second one is today when i changed the aqua scape, This is going to be a work in progress first need to change lighting. not much in it just 5 green cromis and a few snails and crabs
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 8, 2009
    Ted, Jul 8, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ted

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Looks good so far -- what are you going to do next?
     
    Bifferwine, Jul 8, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ted

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    That is a pretty good start to a reef.
     
    yote, Jul 8, 2009
    #3
  4. Ted

    Ted Living one day at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    next will be lights. will be interesting with one son in college, another in H.S. and daughter in middle school gotta do this on a extreme budget lol should be lots of fun. :bounce:
     
    Ted, Jul 8, 2009
    #4
  5. Ted

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    For lights try ebay or Craig's list. You could probably find something good for fraction of the cost new.
     
    dcantucson, Jul 8, 2009
    #5
  6. Ted

    Ted Living one day at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I keep looking on ebay all i ever seem to come up with are the odyssea ones. I did a bunch of research on them sound like a big gamble. A few people love them others hate them alot of people who have never used them bash um. Lots of fire stories from 06 posts I dunno. Craigs list i have never found anything around here that would be a good deal. I saw one but by the time i replaced the bulbs would be the same cost of buying new. :grumble:
     
    Ted, Jul 8, 2009
    #6
  7. Ted

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Sometimes it takes a lot of time, but something will crop up!

    I think all the bad press with the Odyssea lights is in the past. I have read that all the problems were completely fixed. Meaning no more fires! Which is a good thing. :lol:
     
    dcantucson, Jul 8, 2009
    #7
    Ted likes this.
  8. Ted

    PufferGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Im a college student, meaning BROKE, and i bought Odyssea lights off ebay, the 4 bulb T5's, for my 40 gal and im extremely happy with them. I have had no problems at all.
     
    PufferGuy, Jul 8, 2009
    #8
  9. Ted

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    Going to reef tank? What are your nitrates and phosphates?
     
    sen5241b, Jul 8, 2009
    #9
  10. Ted

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    i had a set of the odesea lights, i got it as part of a used and set up tank i got and moved into my house. the ballast died that was driving 2 of the 4 cf bulbs, so i got a new ballast, it wouldnt fit into the original housing, so i just gutted it, and made my own... and now i'm working on a canopy, so it'll all get changed out and replaced with new stuff...

    I will say this, the odasea that i had was running WAY WAY too hot, cause all the insulation on all the wires inside were crispy, cracked, and fell off when touched, so i would imagine that what happened was i just happened to open mine up and replace everything just before it tried to start a fire... I'm gonna call it a win and good luck on the timing and move on...
     
    project5k, Jul 8, 2009
    #10
  11. Ted

    daugherty part time reefer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,166
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Billings, MT USA
    look on RC they usually always have someone selling lights
     
    daugherty, Jul 8, 2009
    #11
  12. Ted

    Ted Living one day at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    well my trates are 10 but before i get any corals i will be installing a fuge with a reverse cycle with chetto in it. I dont have a phosphate test kit yet but will before anything will be added. First i want to get new lights and the fuge going. Then new test kits nothing will be added before then. Im doing this slow.

    Im gonna have to do a hang on back fuge I just dont have the space for my orginal idea of a 20 gal fuge next to dt. Its a corner tank and there isnt room for anything in cabnet underneath. I was thinking of gambling a little theres a hang on back fuge from aquatraders that looks the same as the cpr one for alot less. http://shop.aquatraders.com/Hang-On-Back-s/37.htm With the pump and the light 109 shipped if it doesnt work for the main tank I will use it for the 10 gal build in september. If its crap I will know not to buy anything from them again.
     
    Ted, Jul 8, 2009
    #12
  13. Ted

    Ted Living one day at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Ok I just rolled those dang dice and ordered that hang on back fuge. I will let yall know how it goes. :^:
     
    Ted, Jul 9, 2009
    #13
  14. Ted

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    here's hoping for no snake-eyes
     
    project5k, Jul 10, 2009
    #14
  15. Ted

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    I had a hang on back fuge on my old tank and it did very well. The only thing I didn't really care for is the space in them is very limited.
     
    Piggy, Jul 10, 2009
    #15
  16. Ted

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    I'm using an AquaTraders HOB refugium on my 10g frag tank. I got the smaller of the two fuges they offer. Works just fine.
     
    Rcpilot, Jul 11, 2009
    #16
  17. Ted

    Ted Living one day at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Thanks rc thats the same one I ordered. :D A load off my mind.
     
    Ted, Jul 11, 2009
    #17
  18. Ted

    Ted Living one day at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Hi yall I changed out my cc to sand today now I have a tank of milk. How long is this gonna last and should i run powerheads or anything or just let it sit. There are 5 green cromis in there.
     

    Attached Files:

    Ted, Jul 17, 2009
    #18
  19. Ted

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Surly you didnt just dump the new sand in? Did you?:shock:
    I'd run everything,just like normal.That way those finer particles will get removed,and the heaver ones will settle out.
    Did you use live sand,or the dry?
     
    yote, Jul 17, 2009
    #19
  20. Ted

    Ted Living one day at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    i removed the old and took about half the water out then put in live sand in small amounts then put water in. The package said not to rinse
     
    Ted, Jul 17, 2009
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.