Testing equipment

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by Piggy, Aug 17, 2008.

  1. Piggy

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    I am so tired of them drop test. I've been searching them electronic testers. Do you need to buy them seperately or do they have some that does more then one? I'm trying to come up with some birthday ideas.
     
    Piggy, Aug 17, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Piggy

    cgoodman381 can i put whtever i want?

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Cen Cal
    What probes are you looking for?

    My advice would be to get an AC JR and get a couple different probes for it. Plus you can do so much more as well.
     
    cgoodman381, Aug 17, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Piggy

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    Is there any such thing that will test your water for you witout using a test kit?
     
    Piggy, Aug 17, 2008
    #3
  4. Piggy

    cgoodman381 can i put whtever i want?

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Cen Cal
    What tests are you looking to automate?

    The ac jr will do calc, ph, temp and a coupld other things I think. Just google neptune systems. I will never ever have another tank without some sort of controller...
     
    cgoodman381, Aug 17, 2008
    #4
    Piggy and (deleted member) like this.
  5. Piggy

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    This is more complex then I thought. How do I figure out which one I want?Plus what is a ORP probe? Are these hard to set up?
     
    Piggy, Aug 17, 2008
    #5
  6. Piggy

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    I just got an ACjr.Bought it used,but I love it.
    So far I've only got the PH probe but will have the temp probe within a couple of weeks.
    The ACjr just tests PH,temp,and ORP(redox potential)I think.But you can time your lights with it,use it to run a chiller and or heater,control a calcium reactor,wave maker,about any thing you'd want on a controller.
    I've heard that the nitrate monitors aint that accurate.Look into a photometer for phosphates.
     
    yote, Aug 17, 2008
    #6
    Piggy and (deleted member) like this.
  7. Piggy

    daugherty part time reefer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,166
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Billings, MT USA
    or the reefkeeper2 is another controller.
     
    daugherty, Aug 17, 2008
    #7
    Piggy likes this.
  8. Piggy

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    The RK2 is supposed to be less complicated to set up and operate,but its also got a higher price.
    Maybe some day.
     
    yote, Aug 17, 2008
    #8
    Piggy and (deleted member) like this.
  9. Piggy

    ccCapt Reef Hacker Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    If you are running ozone, you must monitor/control your ORP - oxidation reduction potential. An ORP controller turns an ozone reactor on and off within the recommended ranges of about 375-450mV.
     
    ccCapt, Aug 17, 2008
    #9
    Piggy likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.