Testing

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by Ryan, Aug 22, 2008.

  1. Ryan

    Ryan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    I've been using the Quick Dip strip with six different tests in it. Do I need to get something else or is this pretty accurate?
     
    Ryan, Aug 22, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ryan

    daugherty part time reefer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,166
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Billings, MT USA
    those dip tests are not very good they work but are not accurate
     
    daugherty, Aug 22, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ryan

    Ryan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    What test should I get?
     
    Ryan, Aug 22, 2008
    #3
  4. Ryan

    Melonbob

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,255
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Yellowknife, NT
    cheapest reasonable kit you can get is API. Then there's Salifert, they're good too.
     
    Melonbob, Aug 22, 2008
    #4
  5. Ryan

    RyanG ^*Eternal Dumbass*^

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,189
    Likes Received:
    569
    Location:
    Cuba, New York
    Yep upgrade to dropper tests.
     
    RyanG, Aug 22, 2008
    #5
  6. Ryan

    ccCapt Reef Hacker Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    I use Salifert for all my tests. You should have at least pH and nitrate. If you are keeping stoney corals and want to have coralline growing, you will need calcium, alkalinity, magnesium and phosphate.
     
    ccCapt, Aug 23, 2008
    #6
  7. Ryan

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    I use my aquacontrollerjr to keep up with my PH and temp.Been using seachem for calcium,but just going to give LaMotte a try pretty soon.Got Tropicmarin for alkalinity.
    I dont test for phosphates,because 99.9% of the dropper kits will only pick up orthophosphates.I just run phos-guard on a regular basis instead.
     
    yote, Aug 23, 2008
    #7
  8. Ryan

    SSalty Team Liquid Force

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    North Dakota
    API is great for the price. I am currently using salifert for calcium and Seachem for DKH. I am happy with the salifert but hate the Seachem.

    Next time I purchase a test kit it will be lamotte.
     
    SSalty, Aug 23, 2008
    #8
  9. Ryan

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    The dip sticks are good to get a ballpark estimate, but they are far from accurate. Any kind of droplet test will be more accurate than the dip stick tests. I usually keep the sticks on hand to do routine testing, and if something looks out of whack, I double check it with a liquid test.
     
    Bifferwine, Aug 23, 2008
    #9
  10. Ryan

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    I use the drop test for everything except calcium and magnesium.
     
    Piggy, Aug 23, 2008
    #10
  11. Ryan

    lightcs4 Loving to learn

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Just curious Piggy, what do you use for calcium and magnesium? I ask because I am looking to get more and more LSP and, especially, SPS in my tank.
     
    lightcs4, Aug 25, 2008
    #11
  12. Ryan

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    They're Seachem. Both are easy to do. The magnesium one also includes alkalinity.
     
    Piggy, Aug 25, 2008
    #12
    lightcs4 likes this.
  13. Ryan

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    There are highly accurate electronic devices that can test just about all the chemicals and you could easily spend a grand on them. (Foster and Smith sells them). Has anyone compared the the dropper tests with more, scientifically accurate devices?
     
    sen5241b, Aug 26, 2008
    #13
  14. Ryan

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Not yet,But will be on my next tank.
     
    yote, Aug 26, 2008
    #14
  15. Ryan

    lightcs4 Loving to learn

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    This is what I call a cost - benefit analysis. The cost is more than the benefit.
     
    lightcs4, Aug 27, 2008
    #15
  16. Ryan

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    That all depends Lights.
    I'm planning on getting a photometer for phosphates.Only because the dropper kits dont pick up organic phosphates,and those build up just like nitrates.
     
    yote, Aug 27, 2008
    #16
  17. Ryan

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    I've been looking into them but haven't really decided yet.
     
    Piggy, Aug 27, 2008
    #17
  18. Ryan

    cgoodman381 can i put whtever i want?

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Cen Cal
    The strips are good only for nitrates. everything else is usally off.

    As for test kits, aim for something decent like salifert or elos.
     
    cgoodman381, Aug 27, 2008
    #18
  19. Ryan

    bri74

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    anchorage alaska
    I use the strips in between drip tests just to keep a little eye on things
     
    bri74, Aug 30, 2008
    #19
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.