The Accidental Aquarist . . .

mikewurtz

FOWLR Power!
Hello everyone,

My name is Mike and I am new to the hobby and forums. My 'guy' at the LFS refers to me as The Accidental Aquarist because I seem to have fallen into the hobby. I have enjoyed reading various things through out these forums and thought it was time I start participating.

About 6 months ago a friend of mine was moving out of her house and into an apartment and couldn't take her tank with her. She asked me if I wanted it (for free) and without knowing what I was getting into I thought absolutely, I'd love to take the 90 gallon saltwater tank off your hands even though I don't know anything about it. (YIKES!!!! :shock:)

Needless to say I may have bitten off more than I can chew, but I have enjoyed learning about this exciting habit-forming hobby. Since inheriting the tank I have added 6 creatures to the existing 5 in the tank and so far haven't lost any of them ( that's a good sign right? :D)

Here is my set-up:

90 Gallon FOWLR Tank
1 Yellow Tang
1 Yellow Bellied Blue Hippo Tang
1 Hawaiian Flame Angel
1 Three Striped Damsel
1 Maroon Clown
1 Dragon Goby
2 Blue Damsels
1 Red Bali Star
1 Emerald Crab
1 Sally Lightfoot Crab

All my levels are normal and the fish are happy and thriving. The only thing I'm confused about is that the water seems to have a yellow-greenish tint to it. Any suggestions?

Hi! Welcome!

I am in now way able to answer your question, but sometimes my water looks a little green, I need to take the lids off and scrub them, and do another water change and it looks all better, but I am not sure of your lighting set up and if you have any lids on the tank at all. If you have the stock lids with the strip lights that comes on tanks thats what I have and I have to clean the arcylic that the lights sit on. But it could be something totally different too!

Welcome to the LR