To drill or not to drill?

Discussion in 'Fish Tanks' started by PringlesLFE, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. PringlesLFE

    PringlesLFE Mmm...Salty.

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Acquired another 10G tank tonight and figured...since i screwed up my old attempt at a sump with a 20H, let's learn from the mistakes and do it right this time.

    To drill or not to drill. That is the question. Strapped for cash like no other, the main reason I'm considering drilling (or getting someone that knows what they're doing) to avoid having to buy or build an overflow box.

    Thanks guys
     
    PringlesLFE, Aug 11, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. PringlesLFE

    Wes888

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I would drill since I already have the drill for it. Don't have to worry about the overflow or the siphon.

    Of course, not to drill is easier. No need to buy the drill and learn to drill.
     
    Wes888, Aug 11, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. PringlesLFE

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    I would not bother with an overflow or drilling. Just do it filterless/skimmerless like I did with my 10 gallon tank. All I had on it was a heater and a powerhead.
     
    Bifferwine, Aug 11, 2010
    #3
  4. PringlesLFE

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    I have a 1G fuge higher than my 20G. I drilled the 1G and pump water up to the fuge. Water returns via gravity.
     
    sen5241b, Aug 11, 2010
    #4
  5. PringlesLFE

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    I say DRILL it baby! :bounce:
     
    dcantucson, Aug 11, 2010
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.