Topoff during cycle

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by T Fades, Jan 5, 2011.

  1. T Fades

    T Fades

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi All,

    Have a couple questions:

    First off, where I currently am in the cycle: 4 days ago I started my 28g nanocube by putting 25 lbs of LS, ~28 lbs of LR (not sure if it is cured), filling with water from the LFS, started the pumps, heater, took out the ceramic rings (but left the carbon and filter pad).

    Now to my questions:

    1) During the cycle, I assume I will need to topoff the tank to avoid high levels of evaporation. Is it okay to topoff during the cycle?

    2) Regarding the water I would use to topoff, I have a leftover bucket of water from the LFS when I filled the tank 4 days ago. This bucket (filled with water) is sitting in the cold garage (with no heater or pumps) with a large piece of LR I could not get to fit in the tank. Is it okay to use this water to topoff? There is nothing in the tank except LR and LS, do I still need to raise the temp of the water in the bucket, or is it okay to topoff using the cold water?

    Thanks.
     
    T Fades, Jan 5, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. T Fades

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Yes, top off your tank during the cycle. Use freshwater only, not salt.

    Since there is no livestock in the tank, you can use cold water to top it off. I don't think it will make a big difference since you are only topping off a small amount.
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 5, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. T Fades

    Rellikdloc Zoanthid Crazy

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have the same tank, and am pretty much in the same position you are at, jw why you took your ceramic rings out? I also have 5g bucket of salt water left over, its just sitting in my house, should i keep it?
     
    Rellikdloc, Jan 5, 2011
    #3
  4. T Fades

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Yeah, you can keep the saltwater. It's fine to use later on down the road.
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 5, 2011
    #4
    Rellikdloc likes this.
  5. T Fades

    carter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    tucson Arizona
    id but the ceramic rings back in those are there so bacteria has extra places to build up and you never really need to replace them
     
    carter, Jan 5, 2011
    #5
  6. T Fades

    Zissou What about my dynamite? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Alaska
    No, it's not ok to use this water, not because it's 'used' saltwater, but because it's *salt* water, and not *fresh* water.

    You DO NOT top your tank off with saltwater. When the water from your tank evaporates, the salt is left behind. As the water evaporates, your salt content and levels go up. Topping off with fresh water brings it back down to where it started. It's also important to keep your tank topped off. Let it evaporate too much and the salt level will rise to a level harmful to your animals. Consequently, letting too much water evaporate, and then topping it off will swing the salt level too fast, and that's not good either; you want to keep everything as stable as possible.

    Always keep some fresh RODI water around. :Cheers:

    As far as topping off with cold water, at the minimum you want it room temperature (assuming your room is 70 ish.) It's best to put the water in a bucket and throw a heater in there.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2011
    Zissou, Jan 5, 2011
    #6
  7. T Fades

    rdahlke1105 I'm a girl.

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Hutchinson, KS
    One thing that most do who have this tank is to remove the filterpad and use filter floss in the top chamber of the media basket. In the other chambers the put in either chaeto in the middle or use a combination of chemi-pure elite, phosban and purigen. The reason for the removal of the filter pad is because it becomes a nitrate factory very quickly. Filter floss is cheap and easily changed.
     
    rdahlke1105, Jan 5, 2011
    #7
  8. T Fades

    rdahlke1105 I'm a girl.

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Hutchinson, KS
    No one really uses the rings anymore because they do become nitrate factories very quickly.
     
    rdahlke1105, Jan 5, 2011
    #8
  9. T Fades

    greg1186

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern New Jersey
    can you use bottled poland spring water to top off?
     
    greg1186, Jan 5, 2011
    #9
  10. T Fades

    rdahlke1105 I'm a girl.

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Hutchinson, KS
    No, don't use spring water. Distilled is ok, but not spring. Spring water can cause algae problems. RO/DI water is really the best.
     
    rdahlke1105, Jan 5, 2011
    #10
  11. T Fades

    ZyberGoby Because I'm clever VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,608
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Cohoes, NY
    depending on where you live I'm not sure if its all the same but you can get 1g jugs for like $1.00+ at places like kmat or walmart. I got 2.3 of distilled at Petsmart for close to $6.00. Then at my LFS they have 5G for $10.00. So I'd say got for your water at your LFS I'd trust theirs over the latter of them all...
     
    ZyberGoby, Jan 5, 2011
    #11
  12. T Fades

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    $10 for five gallons?
    Of RO water?
    My LFS charges fifty cents a gallon!
     
    ErinCahir, Jan 5, 2011
    #12
  13. T Fades

    rdahlke1105 I'm a girl.

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Hutchinson, KS
    And you can get it for $.37 a gallon at Walmart. Well at our Walmart you can and the maintenance schedule says that take care of the machine once a month.
     
    rdahlke1105, Jan 5, 2011
    #13
  14. T Fades

    ZyberGoby Because I'm clever VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,608
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Cohoes, NY
    "depending on where you live I'm not sure if its all the same" theirs the clincher right there lol..... every where is different. I have not found it any where by where I live for under $1.00 a gallon. Part of the reason I'm saving for my own RODI. Not every where is the same and for NYS things suck every thing has jumped up greatly in price. Hell I can go to this marine fish shop in mas 2hours from me and get it for .45 a gallon and fish are 5-10 bucks cheaper. But that's a hall and not worth the gas. As for my LFS the only deals i see are from local breeders and fraggers that sell out of the shop. grrrr
     
    ZyberGoby, Jan 5, 2011
    #14
  15. T Fades

    T Fades

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thx for the replies everybody.

    Another question, since I have LR in the tank, should I still add an uncooked shrimp to assist in the cycle process?

    I know I should be testing the water daily to see if Ammonia and Nitrite are rising, which will eventually fall, then Nitrate should rise to about 5-10.

    Thx again.
     
    T Fades, Jan 5, 2011
    #15
  16. T Fades

    carter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    tucson Arizona
    i know this isnt the best but i dont even bother testing while i cycle a tank i know stuff happening and i figure itll be done when its done, now i do test before i add fish, and coral but never really during the cycle itself
     
    carter, Jan 6, 2011
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.