TOTAL Newbie!!

beancntr

Back into Salt
Hi all! I've been surfing the site and have found a lot of great information. Thank you all!!!
I just purchased my first tank - 72g bowfront - that I hope will someday be a reef tank with clowns. I have a MILLION questions! I have been reading anything I can get my hands on, but some things are still unclear to me.

I've read contrasting opinions on undergravel filters. I plan on using a sand base - what are your opinions on this?

Live rock - is it better to cure it yourself (since I'm starting from scratch) or buy it cured? Should you get all the rock you need initially or add as you go? How did some of you plan the layout of your rock or did you plan it!?

Do I need a powerhead right away, or can I wait until I add some corals? The setup I got comes with a skimmer, filter, and heater that I know of (buying it used). Besides salt and testing, what other things do you recommend to start?

I value opinions and comments. Forums are a great way to learn and I'm looking forward to starting my new hobby. I get the tank on Sunday, so I have a few days to prepare for our new arrival.

Thanks!

Cyndi
Littleton, CO

Hi Cyndi and welcome!

Okay, I'll try to address your questions as best as I can. A lot of other people will weigh in here too.

Undergravel filter -- Definitely a big NO for saltwater tanks. Using one will put you on the fastrack to chronic water quality problems. Although they work okay for some freshwater setups, using one for saltwater is definitely a big mistake.