Total newbie

axnst1

Reefing newb
Hi All,

I always had fresh water tanks when I was a kid and always wanted a salt water tank but could never afford it! So now, I am thinking about maybe building one and so I need to start thinking about what I would like to have and how much it would cost! I love the vegetation (what is the proper term?) just as much as the fish so I would really like a tank that has lots of colorful fish and vegetation! I really don't know where to even begin researching things! I know that the salt water eco system is super fragile and therefore, I’d rather spend a little extra money up front to make sure that the content of my tank stays alive! IDK, better filter, or tank, or lighting, or whatever! I'd like a large tank at least 40 gallons, but if I can't afford to do a large tank right, then I'd rather do a small tank (at least to start with/learn on)! I’d appreciate any advice! I am looking for advice/links on:

- Learning the basics (how do I not kill everything my tank)
- filtration system(s)
- Where to buy tank, filtration system, fish, vegetation, rocks, etc.
- Basically everything you wish you knew before you got your first tank!

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks in advance! :D

Hello and welcome!!

Cruise around the site and look at some of the member's build threads (tank showcase) to get some ideas. Also the stickies at the tops of each section are a great place to start researching.

Welcome to the site. Erin is just so darn helpful, just like everyone else on this site. Do not be afraid to ask questions as everyone is so polite.

Hello...Welcome to the site. There is some great information here to help you. The first bit of advice I will offer is, be patient...don't rush things...rushing will just cost you money in the long run