Trying my luck again...

baddfish

scrubber fan!
Hello everyone,

I've been reading this forum for six months or so now, and because I've started posting questions recently I thought I'd introduce myself.
I've listed that I have 5 yrs of saltwater experience, but yet I probably post some beginner-like questions...
This is because a little more than four of those years were back in the early 80's. I had a couple of tanks, the biggest a 55gal long which had fish, crabs and snails only. Back then they still used under-gravel filters, were just realizing the benefits of lots of live rock (which was ridiculously expensive then), and I don't remember doing a whole lot of testing. Just pantloads of water changes to keep things alive. Although I eventually got frustrated and gave everything away, when I look back I think I did pretty good for the amount of information that was out there. (Remember there was no internet to jump on when you had questions. I had a couple of reference books, and trusted (probably way too much) a local fish store.
As you all know, it can be devistating to have a cool fish for a long enough time to get attached to it, and then have it die and not know why.
It took me over 20 yrs to be enticed back into the hobby/torment of having a salt water aquarium (also a freshwater friend gave me a nice 80 gal glass tank about 8 months ago), but now that I'm back I'm remembering how fascinating it is.
Also being able to access sites like this helps, and makes you feel like you're not in it alone.
Hopefully I'll get a decent camera and post a few pictures soon (although its not really much to look at right now....some of the tanks people have here are absolutely beautiful, and a little intimidating).
Thanks to everyone here for all the information you've unknowingly given me during the last few months I've been reading, and may all our tanks thrive!