Two Little Fishes GFO Phosban Reactor and Seachem Phosguard

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by Pysiek, Jan 6, 2014.

  1. Pysiek

    Pysiek VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Frankfort, IL
    I have two little fishes phosban reactor. Before I used their phosban media. Now I would like to switch to seachem phosguard. When I placed the media in my reactor last night I cannot make them to tumble. My pump is a maxijet. Valve it's open all the way and still no tumble. Should I remove the sponges maybe?
     
    Pysiek, Jan 6, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Pysiek

    Cathic Fish Wrangler

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    You will want to get it tumbling or its effectiveness will be reduced greatly. You may want to just replace the pump to something stronger. Also, be aware that phosguard is an aluminum oxide phosphate binder and not an iron oxide binder, it may have potentially more serious side effects than GFO's. A great article to read about phosphate http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2004-11/rhf/
     
    Cathic, Jan 6, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Pysiek

    the guy

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Langley, British Columbia, Canada
    I agree with you, so you just saved me from saying it all again, Thanks :cool:
     
    the guy, Jan 12, 2014
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.