Ultra cheap Ph test device

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by sen5241b, Mar 2, 2009.

  1. sen5241b

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    sen5241b, Mar 2, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. sen5241b

    Smitty

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,609
    Likes Received:
    1,587
    Location:
    Chicago/Oaklawn IL
    That's pretty cool, and much quicker than the standard ph tests that I use.
     
    Smitty, Mar 2, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. sen5241b

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    I've got one of those that I use when I'm working on my food plots.Never thought about using it for my tank.
    Thats cool,guess I'll have to dig mine out.
     
    yote, Mar 2, 2009
    #3
  4. sen5241b

    hoopsdaddy This is my reef club....

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, Tx.
    Try yours Yote and let us know how it does. That is one cheap PH probe.
     
    hoopsdaddy, Mar 2, 2009
    #4
  5. sen5241b

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    I'll get it this weekend.
     
    yote, Mar 3, 2009
    #5
  6. sen5241b

    cthegame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    641
    Location:
    California
    If these things are accurate and work, im getting one. I'll wait for Yote's test.
     
    cthegame, Mar 3, 2009
    #6
  7. sen5241b

    hoopsdaddy This is my reef club....

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Wichita Falls, Tx.
    Meeeeee 2.
     
    hoopsdaddy, Mar 3, 2009
    #7
  8. sen5241b

    HeavyHittah LivingReefs is like home

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Columbia SC
    my tank aint running yet but ill pick one up to if yote's test is accurate
     
    HeavyHittah, Mar 3, 2009
    #8
  9. sen5241b

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    I'll get my tester this weekend.I keep it at my parent place(where I hunt) so I know where its at.
     
    yote, Mar 4, 2009
    #9
  10. sen5241b

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    The directions say insert in soil for one minute. I had to clean the rod with the pad, insert the rod in water almost to the plastic part and then slowly stir it the tank water for about 3 minutes before it matched my API Ph test.
     
    sen5241b, Mar 4, 2009
    #10
  11. sen5241b

    lightcs4 Loving to learn

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Interesting. I may pick one up as well, if multiple tests show it to be reliable.
     
    lightcs4, Mar 4, 2009
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.