Up and Coming 75gal Reef

runningrandy04

Reefing newb
hey guys, I'm so freaking excited right now. 2 hours ago I struck a deal for 60lbs of live rock to start my new tank with. I've been checking craigslist every day I could for 3 months looking for a deal, so you can understand my excitement. I have so many questions.

1. I will have the rock for a week before I can get the tank. How long will it last in a garbage can with no flow? If I need flow, how much?
2. I'm going to plug the overflow and just cycle the tank. What type of flow should I get going in there? I planned on a Koralia #4, #3, and a #2. Will that cause a sandstorm with oolic sand?
3. What size heaters should I get? Note, we plan on letting the temp in the apartment drop to 60-65 at night in the winter. Will 3 100w Stealth heaters work?
4. Should I go with 1in oolic, or 3 in oolic in the main tank? Note I'm gonna have an 8 inch remote dsb in the sump ranging from oolic to rubble. (Mix of 40% oolic, 30% sand, and 30% garf grunge. )

New lights will come when I get the old tank transferred. I'll have more questions later. I know I'm gonna get a ton of ideas thrown at me so thanks in advance. I'll get pics of the rock up when i get it thursday.

Id throw two Maxi 1200s in the garbage can, cheap with good flow. Good deal that you found a deal, like I told you before if you are patient enough things will fall into place. Good job.

Ryans got you covered on the rock.
On the heaters,Just pick up 2-100 watt heaters.Thats all I've got in my 75,and they keep the tank right around 78 in the winter.And we let the house stay right around 65 that time of year.

i use to run a 250 watt heater in my old tank but now i keep my house at 73 year round and do not run a heater any more but get two heaters just in case one sticks one will not be big enough to heat the tank two much or let it get to cold if one stops working all together