Water movement for idiots?

Picasso

Seahorse Whisperer
Ok, I managed to get my RODI up and running and now I'm feeling like I can get my tanks set up with a sump/fuge. I'm good with building it but I can't imagine how I'm going to get the water out of my tank, through the maze of filtering devices and back into the tank without flooding my studio. I know the names of the parts but when it comes to putting them together I get lost. Why is it called an overflow because that sounds bad to me, I don't want my tank to overflow, right? Also, it seems like if you're moving water from one spot to another, how does it know to do it at the same time? Even if you get the same equipment the flow rates are going to vary slightly so eventually there will be problems. I've never used a pump before, can you set the flow rate? When I read through build threads everyone talks about what equipment they use but it is assumed you know the basics. I get the concepts but not those basics.

Thanks to anyone that can help!

Catherine

Haha, ya "overflow" doesn't sound so good, but think of it as a controlled overflow from the DT to your sump/fuge. When it comes to pumps, as long as your overflow can handle the gph that the pump produces then you'll be fine.

It's def. nerve wrecking the first time. But if you trust your ability to set it up correctly then don't worry about it.

Last edited:
I know how you feel. I am also building my first sump and overflow. I hope that "overflow" does not happen and my wife's carpet and livingroom stay as dry as they are today... She has a fit during top offs and water changes if I splash just a few drops. If during my build I suddenly stop posting it will most likely be that she killed me due to spillage. hehehehe.... RIP :death:

:mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen:
Joe