Water

RO water. Some places sell RO/DI combo water, that is OK for the short term, but I believe that the DI part can be harmful over the long term. It is to humans. RO water is the best bet

-Doc

...........I believe that the DI part can be harmful over the long term. It is to humans. RO water is the best bet.

-Doc
I never heard that before. I've been using RO/DI in my reef for well over 10 years. What is considered long term and what are the effects?
I'm not sure about the harmful to human part either. I do know that RO/DI is stripped of all minerals and I've seen discussions about the effects on people, but I have not seen anthing conclusive that RO/DI hurts people. Do you have access to some studies saying it's not good for human consumption?
My RO/DI unit has a seperate output for RO water which goes into a holding tank and then to a spigot on the sink and the other output goes into the DI filter to a line out for my tank water. We always drink RO water.

from my understanding, it is not harmful in small amounts (whatever that means) but in larger amounts may take out minerals and vitamins from your body and potentially harm the lining in the throat.

Myself, I drank it for several months and noticed having a sore throat much of the time and since I stopped, not having those problems. I cannot pin down scientific studies, although there are numberless arguments one can find for or against. I am a fan of being safe rather than sorry, especially when I noticed something in my own body from drinking it.

-Doc

Alot of units are ro/di. Either or is fine and will not harm anything. Even straight DI is fine. I think all Yote uses from walmart. I used the Di jugs from walmart also and it was good water, however, I have bought a RO/DI unit and only use that now.