Wet/Dry Filter

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by Sunshine, Jan 19, 2009.

  1. Sunshine

    Sunshine

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Troy, Ohio USA
    I have a 46 gallon FWLR tank. I want to go bigger. Around 75 to 100 gallon.
    I don't understand the whole wet/dry filter set up. Can you tell me what the water passes thru starting from when it leaves the aquarium. Does it go thru a mat first, then bio balls. I just want to know the sequence. It sort of sounds like a bog system. Only that's an up flow. The wet/dry is a side flow ?
    I currently have a Fluval filter on it now. I know that's not a good system to have. The tank has been set up for a little over a year. I only have 3 fish, the rest are snails, crabs, sandiggers, brown starfish, a shrimp, and a sea urchin.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.....Thanks
     
    Sunshine, Jan 19, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Sunshine

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    water goes through an overflow, through PVC pipe down to the wet dry where it goes onto the bio balls and then once it goes through the bio balls, in my tank, it goes through chaeto and then skimmed and back to the tank
     
    dustin_P74, Jan 19, 2009
    #2
    Sunshine likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Sunshine

    Sunshine

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Troy, Ohio USA
    What is chaeto ?
     
    Sunshine, Jan 19, 2009
    #3
  4. Sunshine

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    a macro algae, but it has nothing to do with a wet dry system. i just use it on my tank
     
    dustin_P74, Jan 19, 2009
    #4
    Sunshine likes this.
  5. Sunshine

    Sunshine

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Troy, Ohio USA
    I googled it......lol Do you plant it in something ? Like sand. And how long does the light have to be on it ?
     
    Sunshine, Jan 19, 2009
    #5
  6. Sunshine

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    no, just throw it in an area where it had room to float around and grow. and i just run the lights with the main tank lights
     
    dustin_P74, Jan 19, 2009
    #6
    Sunshine likes this.
  7. Sunshine

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    With a wet/dry system,the water does pretty much like Dustin said.The water passes through some filter floss then trickles down over the bio-balls,then the return pump pushes it back up to the tank.
    Dustins is actually called a refugium.Works basically the same only without the filter floss and bio-balls.
    Another thing to keep in mind.A wet/dry isnt that much different than running a canister.Both have to be cleaned and maintained on a weekly basis to keep from messing with your water quality.
     
    yote, Jan 19, 2009
    #7
    Sunshine likes this.
  8. Sunshine

    parrotchute DUSTOFF MEDEVAC

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,668
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Ware, MA
    Sunshine,
    I'm in the middle of setng up a sump/fuge now...if you've got any more questions, I'd be happy to share my experiences thus far..
     
    parrotchute, Jan 20, 2009
    #8
    Sunshine likes this.
  9. Sunshine

    Sunshine

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Troy, Ohio USA
    Thanks for all the help. What size pump should I use for a 100 gallon tank ?
     
    Sunshine, Jan 20, 2009
    #9
  10. Sunshine

    parrotchute DUSTOFF MEDEVAC

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,668
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Ware, MA
    I'd say at least a 750 gph pump...
     
    parrotchute, Jan 20, 2009
    #10
    Sunshine likes this.
  11. Sunshine

    Sunshine

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Troy, Ohio USA
    How do you get it to trickle over the bio balls with that much power ?
     
    Sunshine, Jan 20, 2009
    #11
  12. Sunshine

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    the water trickles over the water once it falls from the tank, the pump is for taking the water out of the sump and returning it back to the tank
     
    dustin_P74, Jan 20, 2009
    #12
    Sunshine likes this.
  13. Sunshine

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    You will want to match what your overflow can handle when choosing a pump.If your tank can do 600gph max. then a pump rated the same or slightly less is the way to go.

    I would skip the wet/dry system and just go with a sump/refugium system instead.There is no benefits of bioballs in a reef system let alone a fish only with live rock tank.The live rock will do everything the bioballs does and more meaning no build of nitrates and no regular cleaning.If you ask me,trickles are old school and outdated.I understand they had a place when live rock wasn't readily available but not today.Remember the old fish only tanks with dead coral skeletons as decoration,perfect for a wet/dry but who does that anymore.
     
    reeffreak, Jan 20, 2009
    #13
    Sunshine likes this.
  14. Sunshine

    Sunshine

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Troy, Ohio USA
    Well, I got a 90 gal. reef ready aquarium today. I'm going with the refugium filter. I'm going to use a 20 gal. tank. What size pump should I get ? And what skimmer would work best for that ? Should I set up the filter for awhile before transferring the fish to the new tank ? I'm going to use the water from the 46 gallon when I get it set up.
    Thanks....
     
    Sunshine, Mar 8, 2009
    #14
  15. Sunshine

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    yote, Mar 8, 2009
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.