What’s going on at the Santa Monica Pier Public Aquarium this week

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Forum' started by SantaMonicaHelp, Nov 2, 2017.

1. SantaMonicaHelp

SantaMonicaHelp

Hello, everyone. My name is Kamran, and I am a helper here at Santa Monica Filtration. I am also an aquarist intern at the Santa Monica Pier Public Aquarium:

https://healthebay.org/aquarium/

I’ll be giving periodic updates regarding various going-ons at the aquarium, and if you have any requests for things you want me to find out about our creatures, feel free to share. I hope you all enjoy!

SantaMonicaHelp, Nov 2, 2017
    Ian likes this.
    1. Advertisements

2. SantaMonicaHelp

SantaMonicaHelp

The time has come for my first official update. The Santa Monica Pier Aquarium is nestled beneath the very front of the pier, with a nice big aquarium banner for good measure. Every creature on display is native to Santa Monica Bay, with a few exceptions (ex: El Nino caused some Pacific seahorses to appear in our waters, which were then collected and given their own exhibit). Obviously, the goal is to give visitors a sense of what's lurking right beneath the bay, and to drive the point home, most of our main exhibits are modeled after a specific ecosystem (including the underside of the pier itself).

Attached to this post are a few photos showing the aquarium’s position in relation to the pier, the entrance, and some of our exhibits. All of these photos are mine, except for the aerial shot. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask!

-Kamran

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

SantaMonicaHelp, Nov 9, 2017
    1. Advertisements

3. SantaMonicaHelp

SantaMonicaHelp

Hello again, everyone. One of our swell sharks recently emerged from its embryo, so for this week’s update, I thought I’d give a rundown of how the aquarium handles its shark pups.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]