What Are Sumps used for?!

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by reefnewbie, Aug 26, 2012.

  1. reefnewbie

    reefnewbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Orange County, California
    Hi guys

    as my name says, im currently a newbie to the reef world. I have an empty 100 gallon tank and I want to make sure I have all the necessary equipment before I even begin to think about putting fish and coral in it.

    Now my question is, what is a sump and what exactly is it used for?

    does every aquarium need one?

    Thanks for your help! :sfish:
     
    reefnewbie, Aug 26, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. reefnewbie

    Cathic Fish Wrangler

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    No every aquarium doesnt need a sump. Their primary use is to expand the total water volume, and to house equipment that isnt always pleasant to the eye in a Display tank. Equipment like a protein skimmer, heater, additional liverock, etc. Having a sump is very beneficial in most cases, since the increased water volume makes it easier to avoid fluctuations in water parameters.They also make it easier to do water changes and top offs since the sump is normally located under the tank and has an open top (no cover or lights blocking access to it). Having an in sump protein skimmer will also provide a little extra security should the skimmer overflow, since the skimmer is in the sump the water just returns to the tank and not all over your floor.
     
    Cathic, Aug 26, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. reefnewbie

    reefnewbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Orange County, California
    Wow Cathic this is very helpfull. thank you!
     
    reefnewbie, Aug 26, 2012
    #3
  4. reefnewbie

    Cathic Fish Wrangler

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    No problems, any other questions and I'm sure someone around here will be more than willing to answer.

    Welcome to living reefs.
     
    Cathic, Aug 26, 2012
    #4
  5. reefnewbie

    reefnewbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Orange County, California
    Thank you!

    So how big would you recommend a sump for the size of my tank to be? I will most likely have one so I can hide all the equipment =)
     
    reefnewbie, Aug 26, 2012
    #5
  6. reefnewbie

    Cathic Fish Wrangler

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    really the size is up to you, i know some people do 1/2 the size of their dt's. Others do a 1:1 ratio and some people have bigger sumps than their dt's are. It's a matter of personal preference, space available, planned equipment etc.
     
    Cathic, Aug 26, 2012
    #6
  7. reefnewbie

    reefnewbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Orange County, California
    Oh, ok i'm going to have to take some measurement then from my stand and see what i can fit =) thank u again Cathic.

    How long have you been doing this for?
     
    reefnewbie, Aug 26, 2012
    #7
  8. reefnewbie

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    little_fish, Aug 26, 2012
    #8
  9. reefnewbie

    reefnewbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Orange County, California
    Haha yes it is!

    oh thanks for the link I will definitely check it out!
     
    reefnewbie, Aug 26, 2012
    #9
  10. reefnewbie

    Waddi Shenanigans? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    488
    Location:
    NS, Canada
    +1 Everyone!
    And Welcome to the Reef!
     
    Waddi, Aug 26, 2012
    #10
  11. reefnewbie

    reefnewbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Orange County, California
    Thank you Waddi!
     
    reefnewbie, Aug 26, 2012
    #11
  12. reefnewbie

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    When trying to figure out what volume sump you'll have, "bigger is better." However, you will be limited to the space inside your stand. Does your tank already have a stand? If so, you will want to measure this area. Most people use about 1/2 the stand for the sump and the rest for storage. The easiest and cheapest way to do a sump is to use a spare aquarium for it. How long is your tank? Just guessing, but a 29 gallon might be the way to go for it. If you can't find a tank that fits well, using a heavy duty rubbermade tub (or something similar) from the hardware store also works. A third option is you can buy a pre-made sump from your LFS or online -- but those typically cost $300+, so the vast majority of us choose to just make our own.
     
    Bifferwine, Aug 26, 2012
    #12
  13. reefnewbie

    reefnewbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Orange County, California
    Hi Bifferwine!

    the tank is approx. 5 feet long =)

    Oh the rubbermade tub sounds like a good option as well!

    Yeah i will probably be making my own lol
     
    reefnewbie, Aug 26, 2012
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.