What causes Red Cyano Bacteria (red slime)?

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by roberttroy81, Nov 26, 2007.

  1. roberttroy81

    roberttroy81 Ocean Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I have a small case of red cyano bacteria(red slime).I was just wondering what causes this?I picked up some Chemi-clean today.Do i need anything else to treat this?What can i do to prevent this in the future?

    Sorry if this seems like a dumb ?

    Also i have alot of algea growth on my tank walls lately.What could this be from.Its green algea and i have added a piece a cured live rock lately.I also upgraded my lights a couple of weeks ago to compact 192 watts.Is it because of to much light?Or could it be going though a mini cycle?
     
    roberttroy81, Nov 26, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. roberttroy81

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    First off,what are your parameters?How long are you running your lights?How much flow do you have?What kind of food are you feeding?Frozen,flakes,pellets?
    Cyano is usually caused by low flow and high nutrients.It likes to grow in low oxygen areas.

    The quickest and easiest way to get rid of it,is to leave the lights off for a few days.It wont hurt any of your corals or fish.But if you have poor water quality it will come back.
     
    yote, Nov 26, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. roberttroy81

    roberttroy81 Ocean Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ive just checked my water Two days ago,everything is fine there.PH is good, Ammonia is good, Nitrites is good.Ive got two powerheads circulating the tank.Is there anyway to check the Oxygen level?My protein skimmer does put out some bubbles.If that helps.
     
    roberttroy81, Nov 26, 2007
    #3
  4. roberttroy81

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    Dang Yote your sounding more and more like Biff.

    Excess nutrients and phosphate is usually the source from where cyano feeds off.Where its coming from is why Yote was asking all the questions.Fish food,tap water,overstocking etc.I've never use Chemiclean so I can't tell how well it works or if its safe with corals/inverts.

    Here some ways.
    Use RO/DI water,tapwater is bad.
    Reduce lighting but thats only a temporary fix if the source of food for cyano isn't reduced.
    Feed frozen instead of flakes and pellets.
    Running carbon/chemipure worked for me.Removing the organic waste seems to help.
     
    reeffreak, Nov 26, 2007
    #4
  5. roberttroy81

    roberttroy81 Ocean Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ive only got Three fish.
    Two common clowns
    One Tomatoe clown
    Royale Gramma

    The clowns are getting along too!!!!I took out my Damsels because they were bulling he Royale Gramma soon as i put him the tank.I didnt want aggresive fish better for the future fish i get.I feed them Flake foods,and frozen brine shrimp.I was just reading the instructions on the Chemi Clean and the first thing it says is

    Removes Disease Causing red cyano bacteria from live corals.

    I just started adding corals about a couple weeks ago.Ive added five corals in about that time.Could that be the Problem?
     
    roberttroy81, Nov 26, 2007
    #5
  6. roberttroy81

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    407
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    Brine is very low in protein. Think of it as potatoe chips for your fish. Tastes good--but not a lot of nutritional value. It's okay as a supplement or in combination with other, more nutritious foods. But I wouldn't use it as a stand alone food.

    Dump that flake food in the trash.

    Get frozen foods. I feed Marine Cuisine combo food. I also mix in a little brine, krill and Formula Two for greens.

    Suck the cyano off with a turkey baster and get rid of it.
     
    Rcpilot, Nov 26, 2007
    #6
  7. roberttroy81

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    My money is on the flakes.
    Get your fish some frozen emerald entree,mysis,krill,cyclopes,and rotifers.
    Mix it up as to which one you feed,and only feed once every other day or better yet,every third day.

    I noticed you didnt mention phosphates?
    Have you checked those?I'll bet that you have high phosphates,just from using flake foods.
     
    yote, Nov 26, 2007
    #7
  8. roberttroy81

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    Adding corals wouldn't cause cyano.I feel cyano is just another step to a mature and stable system,just like diatoms.I would go ahead and stop feeding flakes.They contain ash and phosphate.The last time I used a chemical to stop cyano,my corals didn't look to good for a long time.So use it as a last resort.
     
    reeffreak, Nov 26, 2007
    #8
  9. roberttroy81

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    407
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    Last time I found a little cyano, I sucked it off with a turkey bastor and started running a little bit of carbon in the return section of my refugium. Haven't changed anything else and no more signs of cyano.
     
    Rcpilot, Nov 26, 2007
    #9
  10. roberttroy81

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    I agree with everything else that's been said, flake and pellet foods lead to all sorts of algae problems, switch to frozen only. I feed my fish mainly mysis shrimp, it's much more healthy than brine shrimp (potato chips for fish - haha!). You might also want to try running some RowaPhos, PhosBan, or PhosGuard in a little HOB filter for a while. Also try aiming your powerheads at the area that is getting cyano. If the cyano can't hold on, it can't establish itself. If all else fails, you can try to wait it out. I did this when I had a HUGE cyano outbreak a month ago (I was having to blast off my corals with a turkey baster twice a day). It usually will go away by itself as your tank conditions improve.
     
    Bifferwine, Nov 26, 2007
    #10
  11. roberttroy81

    Doc I don't work for anybody

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    UT
    BTW, Biff causes Cyano. I am not afraid to say it. She caused an outbreak in four people's tanks just a little while ago, so don't piss her off

    -Doc
     
    Doc, Nov 27, 2007
    #11
  12. roberttroy81

    Doc I don't work for anybody

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    UT
    seriously, seems like everyone has you covered. Good luck with it. Cyano is a constant pain in the butt in this hobby

    -Doc
     
    Doc, Nov 27, 2007
    #12
  13. roberttroy81

    HAWKS12thMAN NWKRC THUG!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Cle Elum, WA
    I started running carbon and its working wonders for me. Just make sure you change it out every 2-3 weeks or else out break central.
     
    HAWKS12thMAN, Nov 27, 2007
    #13
  14. roberttroy81

    simpleman

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Grass Valley CA
    Power filters have been known to cause an abundance of nitrates/phosphates.
     
    simpleman, Nov 27, 2007
    #14
  15. roberttroy81

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    And canister filters. And wet dry filters.
     
    Bifferwine, Nov 27, 2007
    #15
  16. roberttroy81

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Any filter system that you run will cause water quality problems if its not maintained.
     
    yote, Nov 28, 2007
    #16
  17. roberttroy81

    Namor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Independence, MO
    Wow, never heard anyone say that flakes were a bad choice. Where can you get the frozen foods you guys talk about? I don't have a local store that stocks them.
    also, wouldn't water changes be a good idea? I mean isn't that a better option to remove phosphates over chemical additives?
     
    Namor, Nov 28, 2007
    #17
  18. roberttroy81

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Flakes are awful!!!

    Petco and Petsmart both sell frozen food, pretty cheap. Water changes should be a part of everybody's regular maintenance. But even water changes can't get your phosphates down to 0 all the time.
     
    Bifferwine, Nov 28, 2007
    #18
  19. roberttroy81

    HAWKS12thMAN NWKRC THUG!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Cle Elum, WA
    If you do 100% water changes you could. If your really quick the fish only flop around on the sandbed for a couple minutes!
     
    HAWKS12thMAN, Nov 28, 2007
    #19
  20. roberttroy81

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    Your can order frozen fish food online.Shipping is $20 so order bulk amounts.For me it still comes out cheaper than locally not to mention they have stuff the LFS doesn't always carry.
     
    reeffreak, Nov 28, 2007
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.