What size tank for sump??

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by jmartin48, Aug 31, 2009.

  1. jmartin48

    jmartin48

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, NC USA
    Woot!! Here starts the newbie questions :D I've got a 55g display tank and I was wondering if a 10 gallon tank would be enough for sump or would a 20g be better?? I've got a line on a 20g tank but it's about an hour away from my house where the 10g is about 5 mins. But I would rather go with best if I have to. Thanks..
     
    jmartin48, Aug 31, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jmartin48

    Reefrookie Not so new anymore! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Reading, Pa USA
    More total water volume in the system is always better. I would go with the 20 or even a 30
     
    Reefrookie, Aug 31, 2009
    #2
    jmartin48 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. jmartin48

    BigH55 I'm that guy

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Shiloh, IL
    I would use a 40 gal breeder.
     
    BigH55, Aug 31, 2009
    #3
    jmartin48 likes this.
  4. jmartin48

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Maybe a 55 gal sump:D

    I dont know that a 20 will fit under the stand of a 55.If it will,that'd be the route I'd go.
     
    yote, Sep 1, 2009
    #4
    jmartin48 likes this.
  5. jmartin48

    Melosu58

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Richmond, Virginia
    I know when I had my 55 gallon tank I had a 10 gallon sump. I do agree that if you have a 20 and it fits under there I would try it. More water volume is a wonderful thing.
     
    Melosu58, Sep 1, 2009
    #5
    jmartin48 likes this.
  6. jmartin48

    KidJ57 Struggling Reef Addict

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,920
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    +1 all above; I believe the minimum you want for a sump is 20% which in your case would be 12 gallons. As the others have mentioned, more gals = more fun...Oh and I hear having more water in your system ain't so bad either ;-) :lol:
     
    KidJ57, Sep 1, 2009
    #6
    jmartin48 likes this.
  7. jmartin48

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    +1 to all above. In this case size matters! :lol:
     
    dcantucson, Sep 1, 2009
    #7
    jmartin48 likes this.
  8. jmartin48

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    You should go with the largest sump that you can fit in your stand.

    Is it really worth it to drive an hour for a 20 gallon tank? Most stores sell them for around $20. If you have a Petco or Petsmart nearby, you could get one for $20 and save two hours worth of gas money.
     
    Bifferwine, Sep 1, 2009
    #8
    jmartin48 likes this.
  9. jmartin48

    jmartin48

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, NC USA
    I'll have to check on that. I've got a few local pet stores around i'll call them up and see what I can find. I think i'm gonna go with the 20 gallon. Thanks for all the help. :bowdown:
     
    jmartin48, Sep 1, 2009
    #9
  10. jmartin48

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    yea, Biff that might be true, but if your on an allowance for "fish stuff" like i am, but i'm not limited on what i spend on gas, then if i can get a deal on a tank and not be using up my "fish money" and i'm just useing up some of the gas budget, well, then thats a better deal for me!
     
    project5k, Sep 1, 2009
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.