what to do what to do

godeeporgohome123

Reefing newb
im new to the fish keeping world..and even newer to saltwater i have just recently started a 12 gallon tank .. i have a bigger tank id say its about 40 gallons ...i want to keep mainly soft corals, mushrooms, shrimps and crabs things like that maybe a few small fish..could i use something like 2 big hang on filters? or should i go with a canister filter? someone please give me the run down on filtration.. what would you do?

keeping in mind i want a reef tank..will i need a skimmer or anything?

Last edited:
HOB filters will work. Get about 40-60 lbs of live rock, a good skimmer, and fill one HOB with Chaeto algae, and use the other for mechanical filtration. I would never use a canister filter b/c they store lots of notrates and tend to be forgot about until its to late.

You don't NEED a skimmer. There are several tanks that do great and are skimmerless, however, having a skimmer will make your life a lot easier IMHO. Plus since you're new it'll help solve some problems that you might not know how to deal with before they start. Before you buy one though ask on this site and we'll let you know if it's a good one or POS.

Plus one on adding chaeto to the HOB filter if you don't have a fuge or sump, but I would nix the other. HOB filter using pads can turn into nitrate factories just as well IF not cleaned regularly. Really though IMO live rock, water changes, and a decent skimmer are all you need. A place to grow chaeto will help in reducing organics also. Add 1 to 2 LB of live rock per gal of tank for good biological filtration.

Study everything before you buy anything. You said you want crabs and shrimp, but there are alot of crabs that eat shrimp, so be patient and research before you buy. It'll go a very long way in helping you in this hobby.