What to do with a 36g tank?

SturgeonTale

Reefing newb
Hello everyone!

As you can probably guess I'm new to this whole saltwater aquarium thing, I haven't even decided if I'm going to turn my tank into a saltwater aquarium or not. Long story short, I'm here to explore my options. At the moment I have two aquariums in my possession: a 10 U.S gallon standard long aquarium - that I don't plan to use for a saltwater aquarium (it will likely be converted into a terrarium) but it could potentially be used as a sump tank - and a 36 U.S gallon bow-front tank that I would like to use for a reef tank (but I'm open to a fish-only tank too).

Here's a list of fish I would like to use, please let me know if this is over stocked or if the fish are incomparable with one another:
  • Flame Angel (1)
  • Fire Goby (2)
  • any small clownfish species (3)
  • Mandarin Goby (1) OR
  • Catalina Goby (1)

I've done some reading on saltwater fish but since there are so many available species I'd like to know what you would suggest for my first saltwater, 36 gallon, tank? Here are a few other fish that appeal / don't appeal to me, if that will help at all, though I am open to all suggestions

Fish that appeal to me:
I know I can't have many of these species in my tank, but it gives you an idea of what I like
  • Pufferfish of all kinds
  • Dwarf Lionfish
  • Eels
  • Sea horses and Pipefish
  • Tangs
  • Gobies
  • Hogfish
  • Angelfish
  • Dwarf Angelfish
  • Unusual, unique or bizarre looking species

Fish that don't really appeal to me:
  • deep-bodied Cardinalfish (for example the: Pajama or Banggai)
  • single colored Chromis
  • Killifish

Thank you in advance to everyone for their input!

~Tale

Last edited:
Mandarin is not a great idea for such a small tank. They need to be in a large established tank with a huge copepod supply. They can learn to eat frozen but this suppluments their diet it will not sustain them long term.