where do I begin?

shahrzad1893

Reefing newb
I am not technically newbie anymore. My tank is over 2 years old but it was started out by an uneducated brother with no knowledge and a keen sense of swindeling all of my own money for this tank and since he moved out I am on a mission to rescue what is rightfully my tank!

Where would I begin repair is the question honestly.

my tank is roungly 40-50 gallons (i will me measuring the exact gallons soon)

inhabitents:

- a pair of golden stripe maroon clowns
- a royal gramma
- a christmas wrasse
- another yellow and purple wrassse which name escapes me (don't bother with the info of saying its not a good idea to have 2 wrasse the christmas 3x the size of the other and they get along beautifully)
- a baggai cardinal
- a pearly jaw fish

corals:
-blue candy coral
-knobby wall
-star polyp
-green mushroom rock
-brown musroom rock

inverts:
-bunch of tiny starfish that came from the live rock
- a giant clam

to begin with there is an excessive amount of algea and a reoccuring problem with cyano, the water seems slightly dingey and it seems the glass walls never stay clean.
I have treated for cyano multiple times but the damn thing keeps coming back

ill post pictures with specific issues later :shock:

but since now my brother has delt with the water tests and stuff and im sure if i do it like he did i would be doing it wrong who which tests would i need and what do they need to read and ect ect

thanks for helping me in advance!:^:

Welcome to the site!

The christmas wrasse is a peaceful wrasse and they do get along with other peaceful ones that's probably why you have no issues with them. I'll start by saying that your water quality issues may be due to the fact that you have a lot of fish for a smaller tank. What kind of foods do you feed the fish, how much, and how often?
How often and how much of the water are you changing? Do you have a Clean up crew?