White cotton on rocks

SaltyH2O

Reefing newb
I'm new to saltwater, in fact just started about a week ago. I purchased some rock that had been dried out from a tank at a reputable local saltwater only store. After only a few days of it's new home in my tank it has developed this white cotton looking stuff growing on the underside of one of the rocks. My question is, what the heck is it? Should I take the rock back out? Any help would be much appreciated. Ammonia 0.25 Nitrite 0 Nitrate 0 PH 7.8 and tank is 75 gallons with 6 Damsels. I have a picture of it but for some reason not letting me upload it. If I figure it out I will post it.

I can't help you with the white stuff but please please take your damsels back to the store... it is unnecessary to cycle your tank with fish.

Dying of ammonia toxicity is very cruel, please take them back.

Plus you are limited to one fish per 10 gallons, so with those 6 damsels you are your stocking limit. Plus damsels are the meanest fish you can buy in the hobby and will more than likely kill any fish you at to the tank as well as each other until you are left with one.

Welcome aboard...I'm gonna have to agree with the ladies about the damsels...as far as the white cotton like substance, it may just be q tip sponges, which are beneficial filter feeders.

+1 on all the above. i used a small piece of DEAD shrimp to cycle my tank and it worked just fine. It is unnecessary to use fish.

Dying of ammonia toxicity is very cruel, please take them back.

Plus you are limited to one fish per 10 gallons, so with those 6 damsels you are your stocking limit. Plus damsels are the meanest fish you can buy in the hobby and will more than likely kill any fish you at to the tank as well as each other until you are left with one.

Yah take the damsels out, but you should be able to keep more than 6 fish.

+1 to the ladies - get those damsels out of the tank and find a new LFS