Who is raising seahorses?

2008pollyanna

Reefing newb
Hi, I have been perking a 29 oceanic biocube for a couple of months with live sand and live rock. Am eventually this fall planning on adding seahorses. Does anyone have advice on this issue and what corals work well for them, seahorses. I will be adding sand sifters and probably snails. Advice on good ones there. The sand is a very fine fiji sand deep bed. Ordered the sand on ebay, and in my opionion it may be too fine as it really shifts and dunes on the bottom of my cube. It also likes to sift onto different levels of the rock. Which means I guess lots of basting each evening. Do you think?

I also just purchased a protien skimmer designed for this oceanic biocube. It appears that where my filter is, is where they intend to have this skimmer installed. Does that sound normal? No carbon filter, or manual filter..just the protien skimmer? Need the pros....
B&S

I agree on the flow needing to be set down...but, had my hb look at it a month earlier, and he says it cant be set down or lowered. Go figure. So, you dont feel seahorses can survive with a few coral species? I imagine species of the long tentacle like frogspawn wouldnt be a good choice, but some of the ricordeas shouldnt harm really. Or some of the button polpys?

Zoanthids and mushrooms/ricordeas would be okay with seahorses. Avoid corals with tentacles, as seahorses will tend to grasp on to them and they could get stung. Most people that keep seahorses consider macro algae a necessity because they wrap their tails around the macro algae for stability. Seahorses also do not like high flow, so you will have to figure out some way to turn it down. If you have a pump or powerhead running the water through the tank, you will probably have to buy a smaller pump.