Why Do Inverts Die Right Away

Craig

Reefing newb
4 or 5 times now I have added snails, hermit crabs, emerald crabs, and other cleaner pack items. I acclimate them very slow in the dark with drip acclimation. I have taken several hours. I introduce them to the tank and they are dead within a day or two. I have not added much other than damsel because I don't want to kill off a lot of expensive fish. Can not detect any voltage in the water either.. I am not an expert, but have had other tanks with no issues and have somewhat of an idea I hope. ANY IDEAS?????

ph 8.2
Nitrate 0
Nitrite 0
Ammonia 0
Phosphate 0
Calcium 400
Copper 0
Salinity 1.016 (It got a little low on me. Usually 1.022

Hi and welcome to LR!

Having a SG that low is no good for inverts. I would recommend getting it up to 1.025-1.026 and make sure you keep it there. Fluctuations are no good in this hobby.

Are you sure no copper has ever been added to this tank?
Where are you getting your cleanup crew?

salt level is too low. when you buy your inverts ask what they keep their salt at and try and match it. if the levels a really different it will kill you stuff.inverts are relly suseptible to low salt. they cannot reajust and die. it takes weeks to aclimatize to substantialey different salt levels, and dont be in a rush during the aclimation

+1 to the above. Low salinity would be a start, try raising that. Natural sea water averages 35 ppt, or about 1.0264. Of course, like they said above, stability is more important than the exact number, so if you find it dropping that rapidly, you may look into an auto top-off or at least make sure to top off manually daily.

And after you get that salinity back up, check your magnesium and copper levels. Any good LFS will check those for free if you don't have a test kit.

Hi and welcome to LR!

Having a SG that low is no good for inverts. I would recommend getting it up to 1.025-1.026 and make sure you keep it there. Fluctuations are no good in this hobby.