Will this light work for a reef / coral tank?

BriOnH

Reefing newb
Hi,
I was told this light:
http://www.current-usa.com/satellite.html ( I have the Dual) is good to use for reef/croal tanks, but everything lately I have been reading says that metal halide should be used. While I have had a great succes with saltwater tanks the past 4 years, I have been slowly converting my tank to a reef/coral tank. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am new to this.

I have a 46g bow front tank the fish do great, but the coral I have been getting hasn't been doing so well with this lighting system, but I am not sure if it is the lighting system or the times I have the lights go on.
-Brian

I would guess its not enough, your only running 96 watt on a 46 tank, thats less than 3 watts per gal, however, you can probably keep mushrooms but I dont know about anything else.

bobby said:
I would guess its not enough, your only running 96 watt on a 46 tank, thats less than 3 watts per gal, however, you can probably keep mushrooms but I dont know about anything else.

Man that's a real drag. I do have mushrooms in my tank and it seems to be the only thing thriving. Looks like I might have to return the light. I really like the light too.

Looking at the stats though it says that total watts is 192, does that make a difference?

The guy at the store, and its a very good store, and the staff is pretty knowledgable said that it should work for most of the coral they sell. He said things like clams it wouldn't be enough power for.

JellyMan said:
whats the stats on the lights, when was the last time the bulbs were changed, do you have it raised or not?

I just got the light 2 weeks ago. The light sits directly on my tank, its not raised. Here are the stats:

Current Dual Satellite
Model:1015
Length: 36"
Dual Daylight 6,700k/10,000k: 1x96 watt
Dual Actinic 420nm/460nm: 1x96 watt
Lunar Light Moon White: 1
Independent Controls: Yes
Fan: Yes
Product Dimensions: 36.75" x 7.25" x 2.5"