woohoo more new stuff!!

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by ReefWannabe, Jan 28, 2006.

  1. ReefWannabe

    ReefWannabe

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Havelock, NC
    Well the lady im buying the rock from postponed on me til monday, but shes finding more stuff for me including........eheim pump, another excalibur skimmer with new pump. test kits, calcium and something else dosing things. some kind of reactor?? and books, etc etc. also.

    A 75 Gallon tank-stand-canopy, for 100 bux!!!!!!
    Im going to have them fill it first to check for leaks but now, im not sure whether to make the 55 salt still, and the 75 fresh, or the 55 fresh, and the 75 salt....

    or both salt??????

    Also, last night I ordered 25 count 5-1 test strips for starting, 2 m620 seio power heads, and another rio 600 for my skimmer. rated same as the old 800.
     
    ReefWannabe, Jan 28, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ReefWannabe

    jhnrb

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4,038
    Likes Received:
    457
    Location:
    CALIF.
    congrats on your find. sounds great. my choice is both salt different themes. good luck.
     
    jhnrb, Jan 28, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ReefWannabe

    ReefWannabe

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Havelock, NC
    Round about, what would monthly bills be with 2 tanks? No like electric and such, but maintenance wise?
     
    ReefWannabe, Jan 28, 2006
    #3
  4. ReefWannabe

    ckam

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    d.c.
    75 gal. display with 55 gal. refugium would make a nice set up
     
    ckam, Jan 28, 2006
    #4
  5. ReefWannabe

    ReefWannabe

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Havelock, NC
    nah, I dont want to waste a perfectly good, (and new) 55 gallon just to use it with a 75. I have a refugium coming monday(30 gallon i think) I also have a 15 gallon to use on my 55, whenever I finish making it lol. Just trying to figure out monthly costs with 2 tanks.

    Ill be finishing my 55 first, since ive been waiting on it lol.
     
    ReefWannabe, Jan 28, 2006
    #5
  6. ReefWannabe

    jhnrb

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4,038
    Likes Received:
    457
    Location:
    CALIF.
    Review all of your electrical equipment and convert each item to watts. once you have a total convert to kilowatt per hour. you then can go to your electric utility bill and see what you are being charged per kilowatt hour and do the math based on the KWH total per day, week, or, month. Hope this helps.
     
    jhnrb, Jan 29, 2006
    #6
  7. ReefWannabe

    ReefWannabe

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Havelock, NC
    lol damn John... more math, Im already in Chemistry this semester. Only 1 more to go though so im happy.
     
    ReefWannabe, Jan 29, 2006
    #7
  8. ReefWannabe

    jhnrb

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4,038
    Likes Received:
    457
    Location:
    CALIF.
    Maintenance costs

    Your cost for Maintenance of your systems is not possible to estimate as it depends on your equipment, additives and a whole host of variables. The largest cost will most likely be your water changes, water and salt, in addition to your electrical costs. The more you control things with water changes and not additives the simpler your cost control will be. hope this also helps. good luck.
     
    jhnrb, Jan 30, 2006
    #8
  9. ReefWannabe

    ReefWannabe

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Havelock, NC
    Yea I see what you mean, ill just see what my first month is like with the 55 and go from there. Im actually trying to figure out dimensions on an overflow. Internally and horizontal.
     
    ReefWannabe, Jan 30, 2006
    #9
  10. ReefWannabe

    amonya

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fort worth,tx usa
    Salt.....salt......salt.......waateeerrr..........more.........salt......water.......lol If I Could I Would Go With The Bigger Tank But With Me Its Always I Want More (ya Know What I Mean) . Could You Give Me A Est On How Much Everything Together Going To Cost You . Im Trying To Decide 55 Or 75 For My Next Set Up .please Just The Aqua,stand,sand,rock,and Filtrations Greatly Apreceat(cant Spell)also How Much Live Rock Are You Gonna Use
     
    amonya, Jan 30, 2006
    #10
  11. ReefWannabe

    ReefWannabe

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Havelock, NC
    well im getting the tank stnad and canopy for a deal, 100 bux for all 3 lol. I can however tell you what ive spent on my 55 so far, and it can all work in the 75 since I went bigger.
    Stuff I bought used from local reefers..
    skimmer and 200 lbs of sand=150
    65 lbs rock, refugium, test kits, dosing supplies, books, and other miscelaneous things 150-200

    Stuff I bought new
    2 seio m620 Power heads from live aquaria on sale=72
    rio 600 pump for skimmer=13
    25 count 5 in1 test strips for starting out=7
    eggcrate from lowes 11-12

    so total id say.
    400 give or take w/o the tank and stand for my 55. and another 100 on the 75 gallon setup!! all in the last 2 weeks lol.
     
    ReefWannabe, Jan 30, 2006
    #11
  12. ReefWannabe

    jhnrb

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4,038
    Likes Received:
    457
    Location:
    CALIF.
    It does add up dosnt it, but, a lot of equipment so good buying. keep us posted.
     
    jhnrb, Jan 31, 2006
    #12
  13. ReefWannabe

    ReefWannabe

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Havelock, NC
    Yeah in the next 2 weeks ill be looking for an ro/di unit, a float switch, or more tubing and pvc for auto top-off.
     
    ReefWannabe, Jan 31, 2006
    #13
  14. ReefWannabe

    amonya

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fort worth,tx usa
    thanks for the info thats not as bad as i thought i guess i need to start asap so i can find some deals ya know good luck keep use posted. :bounce:
     
    amonya, Jan 31, 2006
    #14
  15. ReefWannabe

    Chris

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    26
    www.autotopoff.com has an inexpensive line of float switchs that I have been using for years.
     
    Chris, Jan 31, 2006
    #15
  16. ReefWannabe

    ReefWannabe

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Havelock, NC
    K cool ill go check them out then.
     
    ReefWannabe, Jan 31, 2006
    #16
  17. ReefWannabe

    ReefWannabe

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Havelock, NC
    Ok im leaning more towards their double setup. Would this be better/safer than the singler?
     
    ReefWannabe, Jan 31, 2006
    #17
  18. ReefWannabe

    ReefWannabe

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Havelock, NC
    ok tonight I got about 50 lbs of live sand from a 7 year old tank. 71 lbs of live rock, going to start cooking tomorrow. All my pumps and powerheads came in. Also got ph buffer, calcium buffer, something else buffer, another ph buffer, some other reef buffers,gloves, refugium(20 long custom) ummmmmm, some other stuff and a book lol. spent 150 tonight!!! oh yeah and about 75 lbs of IO reef crystals salt.
     
    ReefWannabe, Feb 1, 2006
    #18
  19. ReefWannabe

    Chris

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    26
    The double is much safer if your trying to keep a tank from overflowing, saltwater tanks eventually crud everything up.
     
    Chris, Feb 1, 2006
    #19
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.