Gobies and Shrimp?

Martinb

Reefing newb
Hello!
I am new to the hobby and have a few questions:
I have a 12 gallon nano-cube nano reef, and want to have a clownfish, A blue damsel, and a yellow watchman goby. Do you think my 12 gallon will be enough room for those three fish?

I also heard that yellow watchman gobies can provide protection for shrimp that burrow. What species of shrimp could I get that will dig a burrow for my goby to watch?

Lastly, how long should I let the water cycle before adding my first fish??

Thanks!!!
martin

I think you'd be fine with those fish in your cube.

Not sure about the shrimp, never heard of the shrimp digging a hole. The goby will dig a hole and the shrimp will clean the goby, lol. Just never heard of a shrimp doing the digging haha.

As for your cycle, make sure your Ammonia and Nitrites read 0! How much LR (Live Rock) and sand do you have in your tank so far?

Hello!
I am new to the hobby and have a few questions:
I have a 12 gallon nano-cube nano reef, and want to have a clownfish, A blue damsel, and a yellow watchman goby. Do you think my 12 gallon will be enough room for those three fish?

I also heard that yellow watchman gobies can provide protection for shrimp that burrow. What species of shrimp could I get that will dig a burrow for my goby to watch?

Lastly, how long should I let the water cycle before adding my first fish??

Thanks!!!
martin

Martin,

IMO 3 fish are just too much for a 12g tank. It's quite hard to keep your water levels good, especially your nitrates. You'll have to do weekly water changes of 3 or 4 gals to keep the nitrates less than 15/20PPM. I speak from person experience as I had a 14g Biocube and 3 fish(a clown, yellow tail damsel and six line wrasse).