help please

william

Reefing newb
Hi everyone. I'm new to this hobby and normally wouldn't enter something this involved and temperamental without more education on the subject but my acquisition of a 55g saltwater tank was a bit of a rescue situation. A friend was moving and could no longer keep his setup so I took it over. From my limited knowledge of saltwater systems and tropical fish in general I have come to the conclusion that the tank is not as stable as my friend said. the lionfish has taken to staying at the top of the tank near the pump as if he's struggling for oxygen. The trigger has become quite dormant and the clown is very timid and cautious. I did a nitrite test strip and it said my nitrite and nitrate levels were very high and that I should exchange 25% water out. I see from other posts that getting these levels in check can prove quite difficult. I'm tempted to take the fish to a local tropical fish store and see if the can take them so I can safely get the tank stable without harming the inhabitants or causing then any more stress. Am I over reacting? I know there are no simple solutions in this hobby but cab someone please hold my hand here and walk me through what I need to do and where to start to make sure this system is healthy. Btw there are only fish and live rock at this point. No coral, anemones our invertebrate in the tank. thank you

I don't think you are overreacting. The tank is too small for the trigger, and that can easily be causing him stress (which can cause disease and death). Same for the lion (although there are a few smaller lionfish species that would be fine in a 55, without knowing what kind it is, I can only guess that it's one of the larger ones, which could be causing it problems). The tang is also too large for that tank, but the clown is fine in it.