20G Long nanotank list?

Orville

Reefing newb
Well were should i begin....I am no newbie to freshwater...But i am a newbie to SW.

I always wanted a saltwater tank. But i did the research first and it was was out of my reach of money for the main reason of being in college. so I went with a fresh water tank to learn about cycling and keeping fish because they are cheaper and learned that Then moved on to Dirt tanks that were planted. Mastered that so now i wanted to move on to what i really want..

In my research i found out a lot and i wanted a nano tank and i had a 20GL tank laying around.

My List:

1. 20G Long
  2. Power head.and a HOB filter ((gonna upgrade to sump later) moves about 200GPH and you need about ten times the volume moved)
  3. Sand mixed with crush coral
  4. Heater At 78 Degrees.
Tank is filled and running to make sure there is no leaks, and the mix is at 1.025

Lights?
Now here is my Problem. I have a extra Dual light set up.
Its a T5 Dual Lamp Fixture that i had on my planted tank. It puts out about 45 watts. Will this work for FOWLR because i heard you need sometimes 4 Watts per gallon. Will this Work or no?

LiveRock?
Now My last question is the live rock.
i was thinking 10Pounds of Base Rock and 10Pounds of Live Rock and let the base rock become live rock?

:passedout

You don't need the HOB - thats freshwater tech that does not really translate well to saltwater. It will build up nitrates and give you headaches. If you already have one from your freshwater stuff, keep it to run things like carbon if needed - they are handy for that

With a 20 gallon tank, a sump is not neccesary, but adding one won't hurt anything. (you'd probably be better served upgrading at some point, and using the 20 gallon as the sump :D )

Your lights will be fine for a fish only tank, but I wouldnt plan on keeping many corals with them. Mushroonms and Zoanthids would probably be it