Ammonia Spike

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by Supraz, Apr 9, 2010.

  1. Supraz

    Supraz

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I got rock from TBS and my first shipment was ok however i ended up with some gorilla crabs. After not being able to catch the with traps i decided to give them a freshwater bath when i got my second shipment of rock cause i knew i would be rearranging. I dipped everything in freshwater to remove some of the hitchhikers and got the tank all set up. I have noticed that my turbo snails are really moving. I also have one sea cucumber that smelled a little 'strange'. I tested the ammonia after i got everything set up and I saw i went from 0 to about 1. I did a 5 gallon water change in the process of adding removing rocks. Tank is 29G btw.

    This morning I tested again and its still at about 1. I did another 5 gallon water change and it didnt really seem to make a difference when I retested. I was thinking of removing the snails and the one stinky cucumber. Anyone have any other tips? How frequently can I do these 5 gallon water changes?
     
    Supraz, Apr 9, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Supraz

    Supraz

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Richard also included some sponges with my shipment. I put two in the tank. Could those be causing an issue?
     
    Supraz, Apr 9, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Supraz

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    When you dipped the rock in fresh water,you killed some of the bacteria and alot of the life on and inside the rock.Thats where your ammonia is coming from.
    You'll want to do enough and big enough water changes to keep that ammonia down.
    Yeah,Its gonna prolong the cycle thats been kicked off,but it'll perserve what life is left hopefully.
     
    yote, Apr 9, 2010
    #3
    Supraz likes this.
  4. Supraz

    Supraz

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I only have one extra heater and all my jugs are 5G.... So I can only do 5G at a time. Is it safe to do mutilple water changes a day?
     
    Supraz, Apr 9, 2010
    #4
  5. Supraz

    andysgirl8800 Blenny Badlands

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    232
    Location:
    Colorado
    get another 5g bucket from HD?
     
    andysgirl8800, Apr 9, 2010
    #5
  6. Supraz

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    I picked up an 11g trash can from walmart when I had to start my water changes. It was only like 8 or 10 bucks and is more than big enough for any water change we should have to do
     
    BL1, Apr 9, 2010
    #6
  7. Supraz

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    You can do multiple water changes in a day, that's no problem.
     
    Bifferwine, Apr 9, 2010
    #7
    Supraz likes this.
  8. Supraz

    Supraz

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Thanks Sarah! I already did 2 today. One in the morning and one at lunch. I plan on getting my saltwater jugs refilled and ill do two tonight at once.

    BL1 how are u transfering the water from the 11G trash can to the tank?!

    Andysgirl I have 4 5G jugs but only one heater. When I get them refilled I plan on getting a small 50W heater.
     
    Supraz, Apr 9, 2010
    #8
  9. Supraz

    Rcchanlder

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Chattanooga, tn USA
    if you get the jug up off the floor you can make a siphon. or even put a little on/ off valve in the bottom. drain it into a smaller bucket or just run a line to the tank. add some silicon and there you have it
     
    Rcchanlder, Apr 9, 2010
    #9
  10. Supraz

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    I'll put a little bit at a time into my 5g jug and put it in the tank from there
     
    BL1, Apr 9, 2010
    #10
  11. Supraz

    Supraz

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I had planned on going to my LFS today prior to the ammonia spike because i was have high NO3 in my tank.. Should I continue with my plan to buy a chaeto for my fuge or will the high ammonia levels kill the chaeto? I was also going to get something to boost my PH as it will not get above about 7.8-7.9. Is it ok to do this while i have ammonia problems?
     
    Supraz, Apr 9, 2010
    #11
  12. Supraz

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    The chaeto will be fine with the ammonia. I wouldn't mess with the pH while you have elevated ammonia. Wait for it to drop down to zero before you try additives. Anything you try to add now will be complicated by the presence of ammonia.
     
    Bifferwine, Apr 9, 2010
    #12
    Supraz likes this.
  13. Supraz

    Supraz

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    K Thanks! Im just worried about my cleaning crew... I dont want to see anything happen to them :'(
     
    Supraz, Apr 9, 2010
    #13
  14. Supraz

    coffeebean youreamoron.com member #8

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    Heater? Make the salt water with warm water! It dissolves the salt easier, too. Coffeebean
     
    coffeebean, Apr 10, 2010
    #14
  15. Supraz

    Supraz

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I did a 10G water change in my tank last night and tested the ammonia afterward and didn't really notice a change. It was still at 1.0; This morning its still at 1.0 maybe a little more. I don't feel like I'm making any progress in this. Do I just keep doing a water change in the morning, afternoon, and evening? This is my first tank and Ive never experienced this. Thanks for the advice.
     
    Supraz, Apr 10, 2010
    #15
  16. Supraz

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Doing water changes while your tank is cycling will always prolong the cycle, drag it out and make it last longer. But if you want your animals to survive, that's what you have to do. That's why it sucks to have anything living in your tank when ammonia or nitrites spike. :(
     
    Bifferwine, Apr 10, 2010
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.