Aquarium Question

Palimow

Reefing newb
Well I've been watching craigslist like a hawk the past 3 weeks looking for deals and have found a couple. I have some equipment but no tank yet. I've decided on getting a 75g to start with. One question I have is should I go with a reef ready tank or not. Reef ready just means its drilled (with overflow) right? My LFS (who only specializes in SW life) has a 75g up and running that is reef ready but it has a big black baffle (?) in the back corner with the overflow inside. I really like the tank but I hate the overflow and baffle. It takes up way too much space for my liking and takes away valuable real estate.

Is this something that I should just 'get over' or should i get a more traditional tank? My initial setup is going to be a FOWLR I think since I'm just starting to learn the hobby, however, I will transition into corals relatively soon. I want to do everything right and this has me hung up a bit.

Thanks!

Edit: I just realized this should be in the "Fish Tanks" forum... :(

Last edited:
Get over it. :) Reef ready tanks have built in overflows -- you can't avoid that. They are much nicer looking and easier to maintain than the alternative to a non-reef ready tank -- which use overflow boxes that hang off the back or side of the tank. If you don't want a sump, then you can buy a regular tank that is not drilled and doesn't have an overflow. But using a sump is highly recommended whether you are doing a reef tank or a fish-only tank.

Ya I figured I needed to get over it haha. I forgot to mention I'll have a 38g sump. I'm designing that right now actually. What you said makes sense though. I hadn't thought of the easy of cleaning/maintaining. I was just a little put off by the lost space (I'm stubborn when I get a picture in my head :)).