Baby, I'm just getting started...

bikesandbullies

Yes... I'm a Noob
Hello everybody! What's going on? Been poking around the forums here for a minute trying to soak in as much knowledge as I can. You guys do a great service to noobs like myself.

Ok this weekend I picked up my first "large tank." I have been wanting a big freshwater for the longest. I spotted one on Craigslist last weekend for $150. It was supposedly set up for saltwater, which I really didn't care about because I was just gonna fill it up with fresh water water run it for a couple weeks and drain it and fill it up again etc, etc, until all the salt was gone and stock it with some plants and fish.Well after I got the tank I firgured what the heck, why not? At first I thought I had most of the things that I had to start a reef. So I got busy putting it back together and buying stupid thinkgs that I didn't need like a typical noob. These are the things I have.

Tank and Stand... I know the whispers are useless
100_1223.jpg

Empty Sump and Pump
100_1221.jpg

Here's another pic of the sump
100_1220.jpg

Crappy Overflow
100_1208.jpg

Two of the Lights are connected to this block thingy
100_1227.jpg

It also came with about 150 lbs of live rock and 45 lbs of crushed coral substrate, which I don't have pics of.