Bacterial Infestation or Parasite?

SmallFry

Reefing newb
So I am very new to the hobby of keeping aquariums, my boyfriend is trying to help me out but he's never had one either. We started off with a 5 gallon tank but realized very quickly that wasn't big enough for the blue damsel and ocellaris clown. So we got a 20 gallon and are using the 5 gallon as a treatment tank.

Recently my ocellaris clown and coral beauty have come down with what looks like small white spots covering their body and sometimes it gets on their eyes. The spots go away after a day or so only to come back again. Then the other day, my ocellaris clown started looking really bad. He had these white string looking attachments over his gills and on most of his fins. I thought it could be a parasite but wasn't sure what to do.

The first thing I tried was a freshwater dip for 3 minutes, he looked better and was swimming around but he was gasping for air a lot. Then I put him in our hospital tank with the salinity 1.009 for about a day. I went down to my LFS store and the guys there said if it was a parasite it would need to be treated with copper, but if the strings looked more like slime it would be bacterial. I went with the copper, because I don't know what to do for bacterial infections. I didn't put the cupramine in until I had raised the salinity back up to 1.022 because my boyfriend said it wasn't safe to use copper in hyposalinity. But when we put the copper in, the fish stopped swimming around the tank. Now he just sits at the bottom and is breathing rapidly.