Bubble Annenome

Rigo,

you are a studd. You have a link for everything. Here is one for you...do you have any info about the mating habits of one-legged, hermaphroditic, cross-eyed, marsupials; transplanted to the Isle of Malta? :bounce:

-Dr Marco :sfish:

Yeah I'm a scientist. I have to write scientific stuff. But it recently came to my attention that there was a very important piece of literature missing from the annals (that's annals with TWO N's) of animal behavior literature... How could this be, such a vital chapter in the book of mammalogy (that's mammalogy, not mammaries) missing? And what, you may ask, is this knowledge gap that I am speaking of? Well, straight out of the mouth of the genius Dr. Marco: the mating habits of one-legged, hermaphroditic, cross-eyed, marsupials; transplanted to the Isle of Malta. Yep, that is a topic that no one has yet studied. So I figured it was my duty, my obligation, as a purveyor of reason, of fact and of data to enlighten you all on this neer-studied topic.

Shall we begin?

Malta is a small island nation located in the Mediterranean Sea just south of Sicily, Italy. Seven small islands comprise the Maltese archipelago. In the 1400s, the Virginia opossum, the only extant marsupial found in North America, managed to hop aboard Italian ships as stowaways and found their way back to Europe. A small population of the ancestors of these ancient opossums can still be found on the Isle of Malta.

Because the original number of stowaways was so small, an unfortunate amount of inbreeding between these opossums took place. Due to a point mutation of Gene 485B-38AE on Chromosome 14, all descendents of the original opposums were doomed to one-leggedness. As all organisms are foced to now and then, these one-legged marsupials were able to adapt to their environment in spite of their odd looking disability, using their tail as a make-shift second leg for balance and motion.