Building a sump

dswofford

Reefing newb
Hey I was wondering if anyone out there has made a sump out of two tanks....
I am thinking about building two sumps out of two 29 gallon tanks and connecting the two with bulkheads. I've looked around trying to find pics of a setup like this but have struck out so far. I was thinking that tank one would house my skimmer and on the other side of the baffle would be my return pump. Then tank two would connect with bulk heads and it would be my fuge. I'm brand new to salt so any suggestions, or design ideas or if anyone has a setup like this and could throw some pics up that would be great!

| | | | |
|skimmer | return pump | | |
| | =====| refugium |
|___________|_______________| |________________|

or would it be better to have it this way???

| | | | |
|skimmer | refugium | | |
| | =====| return pump |
|___________|_______________| |________________|

Generally speaking I think you do a skimmer and return pump in the one, the place your second tank/fuge up a little higher than the sump. Take your return pump line and install a T and valve after the T and send the extra water up to the fuge and use a overflow from the fuge back to the sump skimmer area. That's how I've seen it done. RC has a few ideas on this I'm sure.....