Calcium Question

U4BOYZ

Got Fish?
I tested my calcium a few days ago and it was 400mg. So I added 1 tsp. for my 120 gallon tank. I noticed some of my corals weren't opening yesterday and today so I tested it again today and it's down to 320mg! How can I have such a drop in calcium in a few days if I had added a tsp. of calcium? I'm sure both my tests were accurate---I not only tested them twice but I'm a very slow and careful tester (I was a nurse). Thoughts? Is there another test I should be running to make certain I'm alright? The only other test that was off was my KH. It's down to 5 drops. I guess I need to add a KH booster? Thanks.

Yeah,You need to bring your alkalinity up a tad:D It really should be between 8 and 10 DKH.
Something else you really need to test for,is magnesium.If its low,you wont be able to keep calcium and alkalinity stable.
What brand salt are you using?

In that case,just do a big water change:D
If I remember right.When I was using Oceanic salt,it normally had 9 DKH with a calcium of 500 in a fresh mixed batch of water.Cant remember what the magnesium was.

Yote your knowledge is incredible! When I grow up, I want to be just like you!!! :)

I have to get a mag test kit...it doesn't come in my big chemistry kit. I'm also going to pick up a KH booster while I'm there.

I added calcium and have since re-tested...it's back up to 420mg. Thanks for all of your help!

Calcium at 400 is just fine -- you don't need to add anything to bring that up. In fact, if you have softies and LPS corals (no SPS), anything above 300 will be just fine. They do not require a lot of calcium.

If you have a lot of coralline growing, that may be what is sucking up your calcium.

Ursula,Just run down your local wally world and pick up a box of plain old arm and hammer baking soda. Then use this calculator Reef Chemistry Calculator to figure out the dosage.