clownfish swimming sideways & upwards

cms

Reefing newb
I just got two clownfish last night (I don't have any fish just corals). I didn't feed them anything last night, they were swimming fine this morning. When I got back from work, they looked fine, I fed them some mysis shrimp. Right after I fed them, I noticed one started swimming towards the surface, then sideways, spinning, also I saw him briefly laying flat on the powerhead, now he's disappeared in the rocks, I'm assuming he's dead somewhere but I can't find him. The other one seems to be doing fine, swimming normally, any ideas what could have happened? I'm fairly new to this and have had my share of problems with this tank. Thanks

That's normal for clowns, they are well ... clowns. They have the weirdest swimming patterns and habits you'll ever see.

Clowns act weird. Unless they don't respond to poking they are probably fine.

Mine sleeps on the powerhead LOL

He's just a small fish in a pretty big tank, you'd be surprised how small of a space some of these fish can fit into. Also, he's only been in your tank for a day, most fish will hide for a couple days after being added to a new tank.

+1 BL!

CMS, I was having the same thoughts as you when I first got my pair of clowns. One decided he liked the overflow box and would swim vertically in one spot and not move. The other decided the liked the back corner of the tank and wouldn't move. Now both are swimming sideways at the very top of the tank at the water line. But atleast they are eating good. Needless to say nothing they do now would suprise me lol. They are .... well.... clowns lol. I am sure he is probably just hiding in your rock somewhere.