Complete nOOb, need help LOL

Xanthus

Reefing newb
Doing my research, and ended up here. To my limited experience, this community seems like one of the most well rounded and helpful I have seen. So of course I had to join !!

I have been thinking of getting into this for a few years now. I have just about talked myself into it, and have been looking at a 75g tank. I am interested in having the living rock as well as anemones and fish (perhaps ultimately 6-8 compatible fish).

But here is my problem. I dont know for certain if I am getting accurate info or not as there is so much conflicting "truth" out there. The last sales person I dealt with did a really good job on selling the Aqueon ProFlex Sump Filtration system. Doing a little research it seems like it is a good product, but wanted some feedback from the community. I guess I would rather pay a bit more for good equipment in hopes of "idiot proofing" my first foray into saltwater aquariums.

Hi and welcome...this is a great site and plenty of people will be willing to help you out....i unfortunately do not know much about the system your talking about...a 75 is a good size to start with..Do you want to keep corals as well?The anemone will have to wait till your tank matures,i'd wait at least 8-9 months ,maybe a year...I know thats not what you wanted to hear,but its best for both you and the anemone...the most important rule at the start is to go slow...Good luck

Welcome to the site.

If you are handy, you can actually build your own sump for far less than buying one. All you need is an empty tank that fits under your tank and some acrylic sheets. I built the one under my tank for 30 bucks. It is made out of a 10 gallon tank.

Plan if you want corals or not. This will determine the kind of lighting you need.