Complete novice....

Lee

Reefing newb
Hi there, just here looking for some advice...here goes...

I have decided i would like a pet/hobby but not sure what to do now. Essentially the situation i find myself in is that i cannot have a dog/cat or any other animal that needs to be let outdoors (no garden) but i do have the time to care for my pet. So i feel that something in a tank would be ideal for me and my family. I have a few ideas, possibly a lizard of some sort or fish (hence why i am here :D) I really like the idea of a large tank with reef etc. but obviously have no clue at the moment and I'm wary of committing to anything and then regretting it at a later date. I have done a little research tonight and will continue to do so over the next few weeks until i decide what i will do but from what i can gather it seems as though this is an expensive hobby and needs a lot of preparation time prior. :D So the main questions i have are whether having a second hand tank (or any other equipment) affects anything, what effect adding 1 or 2 things at a time has (in terms of equipment) if any and is buying a large tank for your first tank good/bad/not important. Im sure there will be more questions that will arise and the questions you ask me will help me to make a decision. Im currently thinking i would like to set the tank up over the next couple of months and make sure I'm totally prepared before getting any fish at all (which appears to be the advice given anyway but it also gives me time to prepare and buy everything i need before anything else).

Sorry for rambling!

My 125g was used :) I paid around $225 for it, and a tank like mine that's predrilled w/ built in overflows run around $500 new. At one point, all my powerheads, my skimmer, and pumps were used (I eventually replaced them as I got the funds, with new equipment). I soak everything in 50/50 vinegar/water and scrub them down.