Coral Life Super Skimmer Q.

AundriaM

Reefing newb
I am relatively new to the hobby (having inherited a set up tank) and have a Coral Life Super Skimmer on my 55 gallon tank. This has run perfectly for 6 months, and has been freaking out for the last 2 weeks. It has overflowed 4 times, each time with no warning and clear water. It just happened again and I have almost no water going to it right now. Any ideas or suggestions? I have already taken it apart and cleaned each piece individually.

Thanks in advance!

Have you added any chemicals or additives to the tank like medication, aloe, slime coat, stress coat, or any thing to treat tap water like dechlorinator or tap water conditioner?

I top off my tank weekly using water treated with water conditioner/dechlorinator - it does have something in it for slime coat as well. I had heard that additives could drive a skimmer crazy, but I haven't had any problems so far and haven't changed anything I've been using. Do you think this might be it? If so, has anyone had success with any type of water conditiner/skimmer combo? And does this mean that I shouldn't scrap my skimmer and look for a new one quite yet?

Ohhh wait....I have started to use something called Garlic Guard on my fish food - its a liquid and I let it soak into the food before I put it in the tank. I've been careful not to let any excess liquid into my tank - this may be it though. Does anyone else use this?

Water conditioner will screw up any skimmer. You should switch to RODI water. It's much better for your tank than treated tap water, which still can contain loads of bad stuff. You can get RODI water at your LFS, grocery store or Walmart.

It could be the Garlic Guard. Try skipping it for a couple weeks and see if it makes a difference. Skimmers are very touchy.

yeah i agree With biff

and those Super skimmers are Great skimmers ! just a lil on the tough side to re set up,

#1 I assume this is ( HOB ) hang on back set up,