Ed says hello!

eddiekern

Reefing newb
Hello everyone :wave: ,

I'm new to the forum (obviusly:mrgreen:). I'm also semi new to reefing. I worked for an online aquarium supply place for about a year. I've been wanting to set up a tank ever since. But I'm pretty anal about over engineering stuff so I never had the money to do what I wanted. I've had a 37G tall tank for a long time (now I realize it might not have been the best choice, but alas I have the tank and stand already). I'm just gonna do a setup in the 37G. I'm a student so its better that I go small because I'll be moving around some in the next few years.

Here's my plans for livestock :sfish: ...
Pair Maroon Clowns
Flame Angel
Flame Hawkfish
Lawnmower Blenny
Mandarin Goby
Bulb Anemone
Xenia
Polyps
Mushrooms
... and a few other softies, a couple of hermits, and snails

Here's the setup I'm looking to build...
37G Tall 24x15x24
Cabinet Stand
Tons of DIY Rock & Sand
10G Sump & 10G Refugium (DIY projects, w/ MagDrive 7 Pump)
Reef Octopus NW 150 Skimmer
Odessia 250W HQI + 2 x 65W PC light

PLEASE tell me if you have any suggestions ... for example if the light I am considering is a pile of crap :pooh:, let me know!!! Or if I have incompatible livestock choices ... let me know!!!

What I'm working on now is the DIY live rock. I looked all over for ingredients (:frustrat: ... huge pain in the arse) and the ones I could find in my area are: crushed oyster shells, white limestone "pool sand", White cement #1-2, and rock salt. I'm playing with the ratios for all the ingredients right now (and all the screwups turn into refugium rubble!). I'll report on how it goes and post pictures in a few weeks when I get it all figured out.

The tank is going to take a long time to set up because I can only get stuff as fast as I have $$$ for it, which is not very fast.

If you have ANY suggestions, please shout them out!!!

Thanks everyone
Ed