Everything's dead.

fishpuncher

Reefing newb
Hey everyone, newbie here. Ok, so the CT, Maritime Aquarium where my buddy works was getting rid of a tank filled with leather coral attached to some nice fiji live rock. I filled two 30 gallon garbage cans with the water from the tank and all the rock which also had anemones, bristle worms, snails etc. I had in my tank only the substrate and the salt water that had been in there running for about 2 weeks. I came home with the goods, drained most of the tank water, filled the tank with the live rock and added the water from the garbage cans from the other tank. The tank did fine till I added 5 fish 2 days later. About 30 hours passed and everything is completely dead. My question is what happened and where do I go from here. I'm guessing I remove all the dead coral, fish anemones etc and let the tank cycle and check all my chemical levels for zero then proceed? Any help would be great.

Most likely what happened was there was a cycle during the large change of rock/sand/water to the tank you had. A shame it happened , however to continue moving on from where your at.

1)get rid of anything dead in the tank
2)give all the rock a good blasting with a powerhead , i'd also give the tank a good scrub
3)set everything back up as you'd like it to look and let the tank cycle for the next few weeks while you check to see the levels
4)only start adding things slowly , such as adding a few corals at a time , and 1 fish a month , I'd first start by adding clean up crew , then corals /fish.

+1 you never want to add too much bioload to the tank at once. Just add one fish at a time so the beneficial bacteria can catch up to the extra waste being produced.

What probably happened is that you added the 5 fish which started the cycle, the toxic levels kill the nem which then killed everything. They release toxins when they die that can nuke a tank, like you have seen.