excited but apprehensive

Asteroid

Reefing newb
Hello All - I have been reading on this forum for awhile now. The expertise here is awesome. No doubt I am learning everytime I read. I am new to the saltwater arena and have a host of questions which I expect you-all have answered many times. Thanks in advance for indulging me as a new person on the saltwater block. My school has allowed me to purchase a Marineland Instant Ocean setup which comes with a 55gallon glass tank, an emperor 400 biowheel filtration unit, a light strip with 40watt bulb, and a 200watt heater, along with test kit and hydrometer. I also bought to begin with - 15lbs of carib sea - aragonite -reef sand and 40lbs of live aragonite - reef sand. I will also get about 75-100lbs of live rock. So, is it "ok" with you-all to start with the newbie questions? Thanks....

Hi and welcome!

Sounds like you are on track, but keep in mind with the lights the tank comes with, you will not be able to keep any kind of corals, anemones or clams. You will have to upgrade to lights specifically for reef tanks if you want to keep a reef tank. The lights you have will be just fine for a fish-only (FO) tank though.

The filter it comes with will work okay if you have a light bioload -- only stocking a few fish. You will probably need to upgrade to a good protein skimmer if you want to keep more fish or start keeping inverts.

Any specific questions you have, feel free to ask.

Welcome to the Reef! Its a great site. Please remember that the only dumb question is one that is not asked.