filter shoots out debris when changing filter

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by hazelsdad, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. hazelsdad

    hazelsdad

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I gotta be stupid not to figure this out and is hard to ask but i gotta. Everytime i change my filterpads on my marineland 400 power filter when i turn the filter back on it shoots out all the debris throughout my tank that was in there. I tried doing it with the filter on, same issue. Im stumped and it is annoying this crap outta me not to mention contaminating my tank. Any help would be appreciated BIG TIME!
     
    hazelsdad, Oct 28, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. hazelsdad

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Get rid of the filter? And get a nice protein skimmer instead
     
    little_fish, Oct 28, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. hazelsdad

    hazelsdad

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    ......
     
    hazelsdad, Oct 28, 2010
    #3
  4. hazelsdad

    hazelsdad

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    got both going. no issues with tank besides that lol
     
    hazelsdad, Oct 28, 2010
    #4
  5. hazelsdad

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I guess i would then try and syphon out the detritus that is collecting in there when you do a water change. I dont really know what else to do besides that
     
    little_fish, Oct 28, 2010
    #5
  6. hazelsdad

    Smitty

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,609
    Likes Received:
    1,587
    Location:
    Chicago/Oaklawn IL
    You can rinse the filter out when you do the water changes. It'll help keep your nitrates down, and keep the excess debris from getting into the tank.
     
    Smitty, Oct 28, 2010
    #6
  7. hazelsdad

    the reef kid hi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I agree with little fish...HOB filters are a piece of freshwater equipment, and unless you modify it to be say a fuge, then they become nitrate traps.
     
    the reef kid, Oct 28, 2010
    #7
  8. hazelsdad

    hazelsdad

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    i was thinking of going with a canister filter. Any suggestions? I have a 45 Gallon cube tank running a Aquac Remora Skimmer with a maxi jet 1200 also.

     
    hazelsdad, Oct 29, 2010
    #8
  9. hazelsdad

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I would just go with the skimmer, the canister filter will also become a nitrate trap. The rock in your tank will provide plenty of filtration.
     
    little_fish, Oct 29, 2010
    #9
  10. hazelsdad

    hazelsdad

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    really no filter at all?
     
    hazelsdad, Oct 29, 2010
    #10
  11. hazelsdad

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    No filter is needed if you have live rock and a protein skimmer.
     
    Bifferwine, Oct 29, 2010
    #11
  12. hazelsdad

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Yep! External filters are a freshwater thing that didnt translate to saltwater very well because of the differences in water quality dynamics.
     
    little_fish, Oct 29, 2010
    #12
  13. hazelsdad

    hazelsdad

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    ill give it a shot and take off the filter and just add another powerhead for more water movement see how it goes. Also on the protein skimmer should the intake be higher or placed lower in the tank. Have an extension i can add to lower it but right now its about 6 in below water surface.
     
    hazelsdad, Oct 30, 2010
    #13
  14. hazelsdad

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    I think it would depend on the type you have, the instructions for mine say to place the intake 1/2" below the water.
     
    BL1, Oct 30, 2010
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.