Filtration

Truckie

Reefing newb
Hello,

I'm new to saltwater but I have kept a freshwater aquarium for a number of years.
I am looking to set up a 90 gallon fish only/live rock tank. My question is, what would be appropriate filtration for this setup?
I was thinking about turning my old 40gal tank into a sump and using a skimmer and live rock. Would I need anything else?

Thanks!

Thanks for the help.

Where is the best place to get live rock? My local fish store sells it, but if my memory serves me correctly the going rate there was around $6/lb. That would be $600 for 100lbs!
I just found the website liverocknreef.com that charges about $56 for 50lbs. It sounds like a good deal, but is it the same quality that I would get at the store?

Thanks for the help.

Where is the best place to get live rock? My local fish store sells it, but if my memory serves me correctly the going rate there was around $6/lb. That would be $600 for 100lbs!
I just found the website liverocknreef.com that charges about $56 for 50lbs. It sounds like a good deal, but is it the same quality that I would get at the store?

Did u check marcorocks.com? :Cheers:

Thanks for the help.

$6 for live rock is actually a great deal. Think about this, if you buy live rock off the internet, you're going to pay A TON for the shipping, it costs a lot of money. It does get expensive, so most people will buy a small amount of live rock and a majority or dry rock to save some money. You'll usually find that dry rock will include free shipping. A good company to get dry rock from is MarcoRocks Aquarium Products

Everyone has you covered for a basic setup! Most important thing is to keep doing your water changes! :)

Take a look at Aquatic connection. Do a google search for it. Free shipping! I got some of mine from there. Nice stuff and easy to deal with them. I got my Vanuatu rock from them. I have rock from all over though, not just one kind. I wanted a variety and those folks have it.