Good morning! I'm new to EVERYTHING!

Tyrannosaurus_WRX

Shield Maiden of Rohan
Hey everyone! I'd like to start a saltwater aquarium and I've come to this forum to hopefully find some buddies to help guide me along the way. I've never had an aquarium, fresh, salt, or otherwise. Heck, I've never even had a goldfish! I have been reading a bit and I've watched almost all of the videos from BulkReefSupply on YouTube.

From what I've read, it's best that I start with a 50 gallon tank (or larger) and one or two fish (after my water has cycled of course).

I think I have an idea of the equipment I'll need, but a list would be much appreciated! I live in Las Vegas and I run my downstairs air conditioner (yes I have two lol) at 82 degrees (that thing is expensive!). Will I need a chiller at this temperature? I would like to get a sump if it's going to make the process easier. Also, what are your thoughts on glass vs acrylic tanks? There is a two-year old in the house.

The most burning question on my mind is what will it cost to start up? I would like to start with a decent tank. I guess I mean I don't want to drive around garage sales looking for second hand equipment, I want to skip test kits and just start with items with digital readouts, etc. I mean I don't want to buy something, and then have to buy something else that does the same thing only faster and better again later. It seems like a waste to me.

As far as goals go, my fairly ambitious goal is to eventually house one or two mandarins. My pipe dream is to have an octopus, but from what I understand, you need to have a mastery of the hobby.

Also, I saw a video on LED lighting for tanks (I think it was the EcoTech Radeon) and loved the effect it gave! I didn't like the effect it would have on my wallet though. Does anyone have any experience with DIY LED lighting? Or really DIY anything?